Baked Garlic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 2, 2004
I love garlic and this is the spleist way to get my fix. Nothing to it. I do cut down the butter by a 3rd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
Stick to the recipe, use butter. Olive oil can be a little overpowering, it tastes nicer with butter, and butter isn't as bad as it's made out to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2003
Hmm, maybe I did something wrong, but my garlic was still kinda hard after the cooking time. But after I left it in there for a much, much longer time, it turned out nice! I could not bring myself to put butter on it though, so I used olive oil instead. Thanks! ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2003
you cant go wrong with baked garlic. i took the advice of others and used olive oil and salt. excellent. it is true, however, it takes about 40-45 minutes to get soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
I used olive oil instead of butter. Much more traditional and healthier. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2002
~*~YUMMY TO THE TUMMY~*~(If you like garlic that is)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2002
My husband and I really enjoyed this. I made one for each of us and we still fought over who was getting more. ; ) I cut off about a quarter of an inch off the bottom of the bulbs (the pointy end) before cooking. It was a lot easier to squeeze the garlic out the end. I think the cooking time needs to be extended to 35-40 minutes. My garlic was still a little tough. I also would dribble garlic over the top of the bulb as well as in the bottom of the aluminum foil packet. But, overall very easy and delicious. (fyi, one nice italian restaurant we go to serves a bulb of baked garlic, 3 pats of cream cheese and 5 pieces of crispy herb brushetta for 6.95. Now I can make this at home for cheap)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2000
This was really yummy and quick. In lieu of the butter, I subsituted olive oil with a dash of salt. (As suggested by a previous reviewer)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2000
Had it not been for the butter, I would have rated this recipe even higher. Roasting is a wonderful way to prepare/serve garlic. Unfortunately, butter is really bad for your body. Why not subsitute olive oil + a pinch of salt as the necessary fat? It isn't as quick, and it's a bit on the messy side, but, your arteries will thank you, later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-29 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Sautéed Garlic Asparagus

This simple method really highlights the flavor of the asparagus.

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States