Baked Garlic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Oil drizzled and cooked longer leads to perfection. The best way to eat baked garlic is with Brie! spread both on fresh bread....oh my. Better make each person their own head :) and cut the top off before baking so you can squirt them out of their skins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I love garlic, and this is perfect on some Italian bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Used EVOO instead of butter. I think I'll peel the garlic first next time so we can enjoy it all, as some does get stuck inside the casing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Also used olive oil spray and popped them into broiler oven on medium. Takes way less time! Watch them though, they will burn quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcaCandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Don't use butter, use olive oil. I have served a baked garlic with goat cheese appy for years and am always asked to bring this to holiday parties. I put the garlic (cut off the ends) in muffin tins and brush with olive oil, bake at 350F until a toothpick can easily be inserted into the garlic, ~45 min, don't overbake so that it's too mushy though. Once the garlic has cooled, pat off the xs olive oil and push out the clove from the skin, kind of messy but helps serving it this way so your guests don't get skins all over the place. Serve with goat cheese and water crackers.... yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
I have always wanted to make this. Had a party about a month ago and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
I have been trying to figure out why the reviews kept talking about salt and the original recipe said the garlic had sweetess. So I experimented. It appears to me that the recipe must have used salted butter. Salt brings out the sweetness and cancels bitterness. If you fail to use salt or 1/2 salt, you don't get the sweetness she is talking about. Experimentation yields the following: Terra cotta baking dish is great. It is cheap. Cut off tops as was suggested by one reviewer. This is absolutely required. Salt a must. 1/4 teaspoon Olive oil. small pat of oleo on each bulb, bake at 350 for 20min without top. drizzel or baste olive oil on bulbs to keep away dryness, continue baking closed top for 10-20 minutes or until outer cover is light brown. Baste with oil mix from bowl during that time. Squeeze out into its own dish and arrange for presentation. black Pepper can be added before initial baking if desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
I love baked garlic. The best way I can think of to eat it is with a dish of your favorite BBQ sauce and some club crackers. Yum! The only downside to eating very much is exuding garlic for a day or two, still worth the price.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hot Springs, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Easy was to roast garlic! I recommend baking for 45 minutes. Olive oil works well in place of butter. Sprinkle some sea salt on top. When I use in my warm garlic-bean spread I pour the olive oil in the bottom of the foil into the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aiylan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Sautéed Garlic Asparagus

This simple method really highlights the flavor of the asparagus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States