Baked Garden Ratatouille Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
This came out really good. I transferred the ratatouille into a baking dish, placed the chicken on top, and covered with foil before transferring to the oven. The liquid in the vegetables kept the chicken breasts moist. Seasoned the chicken with Italian seasonings before skillet cooking. Added fresh basil, parsley & rosemary to vegetables. I make ratatouille a lot but I really like the idea of cooking it with the chicken since it gives my son something to like in the dish, otherwise just picks at the vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce Werthauer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Even my husband- who doesn't eat many vegetables- went for seconds! I used our first crop of veggies from our garden this year- and our cast iron dutch oven to cook in. I followed the recommendations of many of the cooks & added a good wallop of seasonings. I ground my favs in my mortar with 1 chicken bouillon cube. I cooked off the seasoned chicken breast tenderloins in the butter I sauteed my garlic & onions in- then tossed all the chopped veggies in the pan and remembered to pull the chicken off the bottom up to the top at the last minute. The chicken was nearly done at this point- I then put the dutch oven in the heated oven & cooked for 20 minutes, stirred- added the cheese & returned it to the oven til the cheese was melted & looked right. I let this rest for 5 minutes before serving. I Do Suggest serving with a loaf of crusty bread to sop all the wonderful broth you will have. I tried to serve sour dough- but the flavors clashed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BruiserMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Tried this last night. Was a big hit! I added some shredded carrots I had and a yellow squash. I used chicken tenders, all I had and also added a can of crushed tomatoes. It was delicious and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mikesz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pawtucket, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Definetly more spices,organic cheese, fresh tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Val Cormier

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by where wez
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I made this for my wife for a dinner date, it went well and enjoyable, it's nice to do something fancy and different to the day to day dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
This recipe was a hit with my family! The only reason for four stars rather than five was that the recipe was not complete and I had to watch the video to do it correctly. It is clear in the video that either herbs or pepper are added to the chicken when it is browned and that herbs are also sprinkled over the cheese at the end. I also made the following changes to it: I only had chicken leg quarters so I braised them with the herbs and mushrooms first (figured it would take too long to bake!) and then removed the meat from the bones, chopped the meat and mixed it in to the other ingredients. I only did this because it had to work for my 3 year old who isn't into chicken by itself. I cooked fresh tomatoes with the vegetables instead of using canned and used half a jar of spaghetti sauce since that was what I had. I only had to bake it for 5-6 minutes because all the ingredients were still warm and I just needed to melt the cheese. It was a great base recipe and I hope those that submitted it will correct the mistakes so more can enjoy it! As for me, I'm looking forward to using this recipe many times over when our summer garden vegetables are here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I added more veggies and a little more seasoning and My family and I loved it. Even those of us who dislike veggies were amazed and asking for seconds!!! Great recipe , thanks !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Dish was too watery; chicken comes out rather plain from being cooked separately then placed on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Great recipe! I added double the mushrooms,garlic and onions, and a few more tomatoes. I layered in a 9x13 pan, and topped with deli sliced mozzarella. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Great weekday meal...easy to bake. Add the rosemary/thyme directly to chicken marinade as well as some garlic powder for a tastier chicken. Don't forget the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Garden Ratatouille

See how to make cheesy baked chicken ratatouille with fresh garden herbs.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Sunday Morning Chilaquiles

See how to make easy, cheesy breakfast chilaquiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States