Baked Fried Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Tasty, but took longer to cook than she had indicated, although that is easy enough to fix. I'm very glad to find a good eggplant recipe that isn't fried or a casserole. It is a little bland; my family liked it better with added salt. And I did use light sour cream, which didn't seem to cause any problems. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I have made this several times already and really enjoy it! I usually serve it with spaghetti squash for a low card, meatless meal. It is a refreshing change to not serve meat as a main entree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Snyder

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I never had eggplant before so I was kind of leery. This was pretty good and will make again. I saved some of the seeds and will plant them in my garden next year. Thank you so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Fantastic base for eggplant. After turning it we added a 1/4 inch slice of mozzarella and a slice of tomato the baked for 20 minutes. Everybody takes the recipe home with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Read through all the reviews as this was baking so was a bit concerned it would be bland. Just took it out of the oven and it's excellent! Used 1/2 seasoned bread crumbs and panko with 1/4 c Parmesan, 1 T Italian seasoning and pepper added. Have found that if floured item "rests" for a few minutes while mixing the the rest of the coatings, there is no issue with clumps falling off. There was A LOT of leftover breadcrumbs. Baked this at 350 on a rack after spraying with olive oil - sprinkled on a bit of garlic powder after turning, sprayed flip side with olive oil and raised the oven rack to help crisping based on other reviews. As always when oven frying, will cool and refrigerate until dinner time & then reheat @400 until warmed through and really golden & crispy. Sour cream adds a nice tasty tang! Thanks for sharing a great, easy to personalize recipe Kris!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Not too bad. I did what another reviewer said and rubbed the eggplant in lemon juice & salt for 30 min. and then washed and prepared as stated. We did end up pan frying them in a little bacon grease because they were just too mushy still after baking. Not too bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericksonpad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
If you actually like eggplant, there is little reason to execute this recipe. In our family, eggplant is a favorite side dish. We concluded it wasn't bad, just not worth the prep time, and the disguise of this fragile veggie. Olive oil painted on the rounds, dusted with Cajun spice, and grilled ! Simple as that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I was looking for an alternative to frying eggplant to make eggplant parmigiana. This worked perfectly and didn't affect the end taste. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
No taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EatsBooks

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I made this recipe twice now, the first time I followed the recipe as written, liked it but a bit bland. This time I added 1/2 tsp Habinero seasoning and 1/4 cup shredded parmesan cheese and we really liked it. Very good way to cook eggplant. I do also use the fingerling eggplants which works very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States