Baked Fresh Cherry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Nothing like homemade cherry pie in the middle of an Alberta winter! I pit/ freeze 4 cup bags of cherries in the summer. Use all of the juices, with the cherries as they thaw. My husband's favorite pie has always been cherry,,,,he has become diabetic, so I use splenda It is still a hit! The best cherry pie! Plum full of all fruit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTIMOM2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Fabulous Recipe! I've been using this recipe for years now and have always gotten compliments on this pie! If you like almond, feel free to double the almond extract, it is delicious. A few hints: Taste your cherries! If they are sweet, 1 C sugar is more than enough, if not, you may need to double the sugar; If you don't have a cherry pitter, use a plastic straw; if you don't have tapioca then just leave it out, all the other thickener subs make it taste funny; put a pinch of sugar into your sweet pie crusts, it ties the filling and crust together better; Use 1/2 crisco and 1/2 butter in your pie crusts, makes it easier to handle and helps it from getting tough if you overmix the crust; When greasing/spraying the pie dish, grease underneath the rim so when the pie drips in comes off easier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
I've only made this once so far and it was super easy and super yummy!! I actually goofed when I made this and forgot to add the sugar (long story) but even with NO sugar this was a very yummy pie!!! When I make this again, I will be sure to add sugar, but maybe only a 1/2 cup since the pie was perfect with out the sugar too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goldengirl911

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Juices did not solidify. It tasted excellent otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KatieKat43
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
This pie was good. For my father, who likes it tart, he thought it was a little sweeter. However, he still liked it. I would make it again, perhaps with a little less sugar and definitely not use the almond extract. I agree with previous posts in that it creates a sort of fake taste. Also I worried about pitting the cherries myself but in the end it was easy and still looked nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieKat43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
I loved this recipe,I added 1 cup of blueberries&3cups cherries.Cant wait to make another.My husband says it is de-li-sious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
My first attempt at a fresh cherry pie, and this turned out (almost) perfect! I was using sweet cherries, so I decreased the sugar to 3/4 cup, and realized at the last minute that I didn't have any almond extract, so I left it out. Brushed the bottom crust with egg before filling it, and brushed the top crust with egg and dusted it with sugar. I also followed Fabricgal's tip to bake the pie at 450 for 10 minutes, and then decrease the temp to 350-375 for 30 minutes. Overall, the bottom crust was a little soggy (will have to try chilling the crust in the pie plate before adding the filling next time), and it was a little runny, even with the tapioca - I'm guessing it was because I used sweet cherries. But it tasted GREAT, and the juice was a great addition to the vanilla ice cream I also put on the plate. :) Side note - a chopstick works great in a pinch for a cherry pitter. A straw would work great, but I didn't have any that were heavy enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butte, Montana, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
Awsome! I really have never cared for cherry pie because it's usually sour. This one is fantastic. No tapioca in the house so I used corn starch as another reviewer suggested. I also set the pie pan with the bottom crust in the freezer about 10 minutes. No soggy crust! (I had no idea that would work so well) I did forget about the butter since this is the first cherry pie I've ever made. We have two cherry trees and I simply didn't want to waste any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Baked a cherry pie for the first time in my life last week. I used fresh cherries from our cherry tree and followed this recipe. I have not been a fan of the store bought cherry pies so I was just making the pie for my husband because he likes cherry pies, but after using this recipe with our very own cherries I am now a fan! This recipe was so easy to follow and came out tasting wonderful. My husband was not keen on the recipe when I told him it would contain tapioca, but he raved about the pie so much after he tasted it that I am making a second pie right now as I type this! I will be passing this recipe down in my family. It's a winner! Oh, also, my husband took the pits out of the first batch of cherries by squeezing the cherries. After reading a few hints on this site, I tried using the paper clip method on this batch of cherries and that way was clearly the winner. It saved more of the juices and more of the shape/firmness of the cherry. Thanks for sharing that tip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
No changes here. Another way to get cherry pits out is to use a chop stick with a straw. Cut off a few inches of straw and place on end of chopstick. push, twist and there ya go...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMBILL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States