Baked Fresh Cherry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Juices did not solidify. It tasted excellent otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KatieKat43
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
This pie was good. For my father, who likes it tart, he thought it was a little sweeter. However, he still liked it. I would make it again, perhaps with a little less sugar and definitely not use the almond extract. I agree with previous posts in that it creates a sort of fake taste. Also I worried about pitting the cherries myself but in the end it was easy and still looked nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieKat43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
I loved this recipe,I added 1 cup of blueberries&3cups cherries.Cant wait to make another.My husband says it is de-li-sious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
My first attempt at a fresh cherry pie, and this turned out (almost) perfect! I was using sweet cherries, so I decreased the sugar to 3/4 cup, and realized at the last minute that I didn't have any almond extract, so I left it out. Brushed the bottom crust with egg before filling it, and brushed the top crust with egg and dusted it with sugar. I also followed Fabricgal's tip to bake the pie at 450 for 10 minutes, and then decrease the temp to 350-375 for 30 minutes. Overall, the bottom crust was a little soggy (will have to try chilling the crust in the pie plate before adding the filling next time), and it was a little runny, even with the tapioca - I'm guessing it was because I used sweet cherries. But it tasted GREAT, and the juice was a great addition to the vanilla ice cream I also put on the plate. :) Side note - a chopstick works great in a pinch for a cherry pitter. A straw would work great, but I didn't have any that were heavy enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butte, Montana, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
Awsome! I really have never cared for cherry pie because it's usually sour. This one is fantastic. No tapioca in the house so I used corn starch as another reviewer suggested. I also set the pie pan with the bottom crust in the freezer about 10 minutes. No soggy crust! (I had no idea that would work so well) I did forget about the butter since this is the first cherry pie I've ever made. We have two cherry trees and I simply didn't want to waste any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Baked a cherry pie for the first time in my life last week. I used fresh cherries from our cherry tree and followed this recipe. I have not been a fan of the store bought cherry pies so I was just making the pie for my husband because he likes cherry pies, but after using this recipe with our very own cherries I am now a fan! This recipe was so easy to follow and came out tasting wonderful. My husband was not keen on the recipe when I told him it would contain tapioca, but he raved about the pie so much after he tasted it that I am making a second pie right now as I type this! I will be passing this recipe down in my family. It's a winner! Oh, also, my husband took the pits out of the first batch of cherries by squeezing the cherries. After reading a few hints on this site, I tried using the paper clip method on this batch of cherries and that way was clearly the winner. It saved more of the juices and more of the shape/firmness of the cherry. Thanks for sharing that tip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
No changes here. Another way to get cherry pits out is to use a chop stick with a straw. Cut off a few inches of straw and place on end of chopstick. push, twist and there ya go...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMBILL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Great cherry pie! My dad requested a cherry ie for his birthday dessert and he raved on this pie as well as the rest of us. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fulsome-cooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clovis, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
This is a very great Cherry Pie Recipe. I have made this pie for the holidays and everyone enjoys it. I only find one problem with this recipe. It lacks to tell you that you should drain and reserve some of the cherry pie filling. Whether your going to use Canned or homemade you should definitely make sure you drain and reserve the cherry juice. My best advice is drain all the juice from your canned or fresh cherrys. place the cherry filling into a bowl then add 1/3 full of cherry juice to it. Just enough so that it almost like you can see the juice raising up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I made this cherry pie last night and it was delicious beyond belief or description. I followed the recipe except that I didn't have the almond extract so I doubled the vanilla. I added a teaspoon of lemon juice too because I was concerned that my cherries were too sweet. I have read tart cherries are the best and that they have a short season. Mine were delicious raw so I figured they had to be on the sweet side so I added the lemon juice for tartness which I read was the answer to that problem. Two packages of cherries equalled a generous 4 cups pitted. I had a tough time finding tapioca because I didn't realize all I needed was the Minute Tapioca by Kraft. Somehow I thought tapioca starch was a different product. I made a basket weave crust, brushed it with egg whites and sprinkled it with an extra large grain decorative sugar crystals. The sugar was gorgeous and made the top sparkle. I loved the texture it added to the final product as well. I made a foil crust guard which I never took off and the crust was nicely browned. It might have been due to the sugar topping. I put a cookie sheet under the pie but it did not drip one little bit. I cooled it on a rack and cut it about 1 and 1/2 hour later. It was by far the best cherry pie I have ever eaten. My husband was blown away by it too. It was just so special. It sliced perfectly too. Even the first slice was magazine perfect. We served it with vanilla ice cream. I can't say enough good about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States