Baked Fresh Cherry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
Having never made a pie before (and failing to consult my mom first), I didn't know why the tapioca was necessary (I dislike the taste of tapioca & another reader said she didn't use it & it turned out fine). Needless to say my pie was SOUPY, but my tasters raved about my "cherries jubilee" :) The fresh cherries made all the difference! I pitted them with an unused, clean air-pump needle (for filling a volleyball, for example) as the straw & paperclip ideas didn't work too well for me. It worked amazingly well! I inserted the needle into the opening from the stem, loosened up the pit by circling around it, then popped it out from the other side...very little juice was lost and the knob on the other end was a great grip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
Fabulous and easy. If I could give it ten stars I would; using the fresh sour cherries gave a tart/sweet taste that was not cloying like some cherry pies can be. My husband of 25 years said it was the best cherry pie he'd ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
this was my first attempt at making a cherry pie and it turned out amazing! tart cherries weren't available yet, so i used sweet. i was warned that sweet cherries have a tendency to result in "cherry pie soup", but the tapioca kept that from happening. i used the crisco pie crust recipe, which worked well with this. the almond and vanilla were a nice addition - the sweet cherries might have been a little dull without that little touch. thanks! i can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
Made this for Father's Day. It was the first cherry pie I've made. It was very easy and my dad loved it. I gave it a four because I didn't get to try it; everyone ate it before I could have a piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
This recipe is fantastic. I took it to a party for a coworker and got compliments all around. Even those who swore they hated cherry pie loved this. Absolutely worth using every cherry season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
Enjoyable, but when using fresh cherries you may want to try mixing them in a pot over medium heat to get more of the juices and have a more glazier type texture to the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by us2suprheros

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
it was a good pie, but the only reason i gave it a 3 was because there was WAY too much sugar in this pie, i would only put in 1/2 a cup that way the taste of the cherries would be stronger instead of so sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
this pie was fantastic! the recipe was so simple, it let the perfect seasonal cherries shine. i made it to bring for coworkers and it was gone before i'd turned my back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
nummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Petersen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I make this recipe over and over-comes out perfectly every time! And it's so easy..I do brush whipped egg white over the top of the crust and sprinkle with sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States