Baked Fresh Cherry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
this recipe was explosive. the most explosive cherry pie ive ever made but it didnt explode on my taste buds like you would expect, rather the combination of cherries and the oven exploded allllllll over my kitchen and i tried to eat this horrid, sickly pie. it was awful and disgusting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
very good and simple. I used splenda instead of sugar and excluded the butter for a low calorie version of this recipe. Tapioca was a great idea for a low calorie cherry glaze. The only calories I couldn't avoid was the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
Yum!!!!! I accidentally didn't buy enough fresh cherries, so I used 2 1/3 cup pitted fresh cherries and used frozen strawberries to fill the rest. Mixed the fruits together, added a bit of water and about 2 tbsp. cornstarch and cooked the fruit on the stovetop until thickened, about 10 minutes. The added vanilla and almond really make it great; they're subtle but they add so much. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
This recipe is so easy & yummy! It is worth taking the time to pit fresh cherries. Alternative natural taste insead of using tapioca: Mash cherries & add 1/4 cup water so that the cherry liquid equals 3/4 cup, Add smashed cherry liquid to a small pan with 2 1/2 Tbls Cornstarch, 1 cup of white sugar, 1/8 tsp salt. Cook, stirring constantly until it thickens/gels for 2-3 minutes. Add the extracts, before you pour into pie shell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
I decided to make this pie based on the high rating it received. It turned out good, with a few changes. I only used half the sugar because my cherries were sweet and yummy and I didn't want the pie to be too sugar-y. I also think it could have used a little more "thickness" from either flour or cornstarch (not in the recipe). The tapioca wasn't enough. I can't imagine how runny it would be without it. For those who don't normally care for tapioca (like me), don't worry-- you can't taste it. Finally, the 4 cups of cherries it called for didn't seem like enough. I used the 4 cups thinking it would expand with the juices and tapioca, but it could have used more. The pie was "shallow" looking and sunken in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
this is a great recipe. I have found that it is easiest to pit cherries simply by holding them (over a bucket to catch the juice and throw them into) in my left hand, slice the top with your thumbnail, and squeaze the bottom of the cherry between the fingers of your right hand, the pit pops out, any juice lost goes into the bucket, to be used in the cooking. Also, cornstarch seems to work as well as tapioca to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
Having never made a pie before (and failing to consult my mom first), I didn't know why the tapioca was necessary (I dislike the taste of tapioca & another reader said she didn't use it & it turned out fine). Needless to say my pie was SOUPY, but my tasters raved about my "cherries jubilee" :) The fresh cherries made all the difference! I pitted them with an unused, clean air-pump needle (for filling a volleyball, for example) as the straw & paperclip ideas didn't work too well for me. It worked amazingly well! I inserted the needle into the opening from the stem, loosened up the pit by circling around it, then popped it out from the other side...very little juice was lost and the knob on the other end was a great grip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
Fabulous and easy. If I could give it ten stars I would; using the fresh sour cherries gave a tart/sweet taste that was not cloying like some cherry pies can be. My husband of 25 years said it was the best cherry pie he'd ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
this was my first attempt at making a cherry pie and it turned out amazing! tart cherries weren't available yet, so i used sweet. i was warned that sweet cherries have a tendency to result in "cherry pie soup", but the tapioca kept that from happening. i used the crisco pie crust recipe, which worked well with this. the almond and vanilla were a nice addition - the sweet cherries might have been a little dull without that little touch. thanks! i can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
Made this for Father's Day. It was the first cherry pie I've made. It was very easy and my dad loved it. I gave it a four because I didn't get to try it; everyone ate it before I could have a piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States