Baked Fresh Cherry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
The pie was very solid; I wanted to avoid a runny pie, but I would still add less tapioca next time. I would also cut out the almond extract; as another reviewer stated, it overwhelms the cherries. It tasted like an almond pie with a fruity texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
This recipe is great, simple, easy and tastes wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Broken Bow, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
How do you get cherry juice off a new shirt!....lol....This was my first Cherry Pie and it turned out better than i thought it was going to. I bought a store bought crust added butter and sugar to the crust, and it was really delish....vanilla ice cream topped it off..my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammyls69

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesterton, Indiana, USA
Living In: Altamonte Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
I used Rainier cherries which are sweet so I cut the sugar in half and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Highland Village, Texas, USA
Living In: Sandpoint, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Yum! I used sweet cherries and substituted about 1/4 cup of white sugar for brown sugar, just because I like the depth that brown sugar gives. I used the Butter Flaky Pie Crust and only cooked the pie for about 40 minutes, but it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
This is a good fresh cherry pie recipe. I find if I refrigerate the bottom crust, pie plate and all, that I don't get a soggy crust. Also always use a deep dish pie plate for fruit pies. Would recommend this recipe for novice bakers and those who have been at it for a while. Bake on ladies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
Ahh, so good! I actually had about 1.5 cups of black raspberries from my yard, so I combined those with 2.5 cups of cherries and it was WONDERFUL! I used the "Butter Flaky Pie Crust" from this site, and ahh... so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MAMALEIGH
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Simple and delicious. Paired with a homemade crust, this pie is everything a fresh fruit pie should be. My cherries were very tart, so I combined them with the sugar and let them chill overnight before baking. If you don't have tapioca, try substituting cornstarch. The pie will set up just fine after it cools. I would suggest serving this topped with fresh whipped cream or real vanilla bean ice cream. It doesn't get any better than this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMALEIGH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
Yes, this was a good recipe. A cherry pitter can be bought at many hardware stores, and MANY places online. I bought mine for only about $20-$25 at a local hardware store and it makes it VERY easy to pit many cherries. You have to learn the fastest way with your own pitter, since I am sure different brands are different in the way they operate. Once I developed a 'touch', which did not take long, I could fly through gallons of cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Junkerjunk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
This pie is delicious and easy! I have a cherry tree in my front yard that I harvested for these cherries. I used the pie crust from the "Perfect Cherry Pie" recipe on this site and the filling from this recipe. Next time I'll slightly more filling, but otherwise I think this recipe is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States