Baked Fresh Cherry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
This was great! I loved that you didn't have to cook the cherries ahead of time before baking, like with other recipes. The hardest part was just removing the pits. I let the cherries sit in the sugar, etc., while eating supper. Then assembled and popped in oven! I also didn't have enough tapioca, so i mixed in some cornstarch as well, and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
I have made a lot of pies, but never a cherry pie, and I love almond flavor, so I tried this one. It was easy, especially because I use the Pillsbury ready crusts (no need, in my mind, to fuss and fume because it tastes so good). I think my husband let all the juice out when he pitted the cherries, though, because the pie was really gloppy. It was still yummy, though. I would probably increase the almond next time and maybe throw in more cherries for good measure. Hopefully my next try will be more juicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mahwah, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
I tried this recipe and it was ok. Perhaps if I made the crust from scratch and not used a store bought one, it may have tasted differently. It was still good, tho. I used a paper clip to pit the cherries and it worked great. Cheaper than a pitter, too. Forgot to add that I agree with a previous reviewer about using the tapioca. It didn't disappear as the pie cooked so, you still saw these white lumpy things afterwards. In actuality, I'd give this recipe 3.5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
This is the first cherry pie I have ever made and it was delicious! I took it to a gathering and was repeatedly asked for what the thickener was... everyone loved the consistency of the filling. I don't have much experience with fruit pies but apparently the tapioca is not all that common and it worked beautifully. YUMMY! I will be making this again and throughout cherry season every year. BTW, it is ridiculous to try to pit cherries without a cherry pitter - if you are going to do this more than once in your life then just splurge on the ten bucks - its worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
The flavor was good but the texture with all that chunky tapioca was not appealing. Next time I'll try a recipe with cornstarch or flour. Use the recipe "Butter flaky pie crust" its delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Dimas, California, USA
Living In: Tualatin, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
This was the best recipe I ever tried for cherry pie. I had frozen fresh cherries--I rinsed them several times to thaw them but still keep them firm. I did not have almond extract so used a little extra vanilla extract. My husband loved the pie and my sister raved that it was the best she ever tasted. I believe it's a KEEPER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I loved how this pie came out looked good tasted even better but might have noted to drain some of the juice off before putting in the oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DriverB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Absolutely loved this recipe and would recommend it to any baker- new or experienced. Made it for a neighbor and was so happy he invited me in for a slice... it was perfect! I glazed melted butter on the crust before baking it, and it made a nice shiny appearance at the end. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LesMorris1

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: East Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Excellent. Due to allergies, changed almond extract to vanilla, and added 1 tsp. brandy. Used 3/4 c. brown sugar; 1/2 c. white. Not too sweet. Get a cherry pitter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Blandon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
This is a great tasting recipe. I was having trouble getting my cherries to thicken this does the trick! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Navarre, Ohio, USA
Living In: Massillon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States