Baked Fresh Cherry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
This is an awesome recipe. I made one of these yesterday for a house warming. It was so yummy, my husband asked me to bake another one for his parents, as well as a third to keep at home! I did increase the amount of sugar to 1 1/4 cups, as the cherries I used were very tart. To pit the cherries I used a small, hard plastic child's straw. It worked amazingly well. It popped the pits right out in seconds. Although, I must say, I will definitely be wearing gloves for this process next time! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
My husband is a huge cherry pie fan so we made this together one night. I like pies, but they aren't my favorite dessert by any stretch. But this now tops my favorite desserts. It was the best pie I've ever tasted. Hands down. We didn't have tapioca on hand so I followed the suggestion by one of the reviewers to cook the juice from the cherries with cornstarch. So yummy! Will make again in a heartbeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Awesome, increased van to 1 t and almond to 1/2 t. Also increased sugar to 1 & 1/2 c. Baked 450 10 minutes and then at 350 for 30 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SweetPea
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
We used fresh bing cherries and followed the recipe exactly. I put my husband to work on the pitting and he did a great job. We had so much fun doing it together we have decided to make one every year and to use this recipe. Painted the top with egg wash and put a star in the middle for the 4th. Once we arrived at the party, the pie was the main event. Served with vanilla ice cream and it was gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetPea
Home Town: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
Living In: O Fallon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
Made this today from fresh sour cherries. Pitting them by hand took awhile, but the effort was well worth it. Plan to make another to take for 4th of July picnic. Used Pillsbury prepared pie shells, and used the tip from another chef to make the lattice-work top. Painted the top with egg wash, and the pie is picture-perfect. Very tasty! Thanks/Lesley
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesley

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mohrsville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
This was great! I loved that you didn't have to cook the cherries ahead of time before baking, like with other recipes. The hardest part was just removing the pits. I let the cherries sit in the sugar, etc., while eating supper. Then assembled and popped in oven! I also didn't have enough tapioca, so i mixed in some cornstarch as well, and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
I have made a lot of pies, but never a cherry pie, and I love almond flavor, so I tried this one. It was easy, especially because I use the Pillsbury ready crusts (no need, in my mind, to fuss and fume because it tastes so good). I think my husband let all the juice out when he pitted the cherries, though, because the pie was really gloppy. It was still yummy, though. I would probably increase the almond next time and maybe throw in more cherries for good measure. Hopefully my next try will be more juicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mahwah, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
I tried this recipe and it was ok. Perhaps if I made the crust from scratch and not used a store bought one, it may have tasted differently. It was still good, tho. I used a paper clip to pit the cherries and it worked great. Cheaper than a pitter, too. Forgot to add that I agree with a previous reviewer about using the tapioca. It didn't disappear as the pie cooked so, you still saw these white lumpy things afterwards. In actuality, I'd give this recipe 3.5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
This is the first cherry pie I have ever made and it was delicious! I took it to a gathering and was repeatedly asked for what the thickener was... everyone loved the consistency of the filling. I don't have much experience with fruit pies but apparently the tapioca is not all that common and it worked beautifully. YUMMY! I will be making this again and throughout cherry season every year. BTW, it is ridiculous to try to pit cherries without a cherry pitter - if you are going to do this more than once in your life then just splurge on the ten bucks - its worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
The flavor was good but the texture with all that chunky tapioca was not appealing. Next time I'll try a recipe with cornstarch or flour. Use the recipe "Butter flaky pie crust" its delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Dimas, California, USA
Living In: Tualatin, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States