Baked Fresh Cherry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
The absolutely BEST Cherry Pie I have ever made. We have our own cherry tree. I pit them using an opened paper clip which is very easy using larger end of clip. Seed pulls out easily. Do not lose as much juice. Then I freeze a quart (4 cups) to a bag with 1/2 cup sugar and a sprinkle of fruit fresh. Then thaw and use as wanted. I used the 1 cup sugar in the recipe, so made it sweeter and used only 1/8 tsp each almond and vanilla flavorings. I made this pie using the Best Ever Pie Crust on this site using only 6 Tbs of ice water. I always brush the bottom crust with slightly beaten egg white before adding filling and start out baking a two crust pie at 450 degrees for 10 minutes then turn down to 350 to 375 for another 30 minutes or until the juices bubble up through the vents. Just superb! Sets up perfectly. Never have to look for any different recipe for cherry pie again. Rave reviews from family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
658 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
Just moved to a home with cherry trees in the backyard, so I had buckets of fresh cherries and no idea how to use them. I tried this recipe with and without the tapioca, and got rave reviews with both. Use the tapioca if you like your pie more firm; if not, then it's a little more wet. I didn't have a cherry pitter, so my husband came up with a great, cheap solution after seeing me pitting the cherries with a knife (very tedious, and it halves the cherries which doesn't like as nice as whole cherries in the pie): plastic straws, like the kind you get at any fast food place. Hold the cherry in one hand and gently push the straw throught the top of the cherry until you feel the pit. Gently push the pit through the bottom of the cherry. Do this over a bowl to catch the pits and the juice; put the pitted cherry in another bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
377 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2005
Yummy! I've made this twice now. The second time I used 1 1/4 cup of sugar instead of only 1 cup and I think it was better. My secret to a fabulous crust is to use cake flour for 1/2 of the flour required. Cake flour has less Gluten so the crust is very tender. I also use half butter/Half Crisco for the fat measurement. My crusts are always wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
257 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
I made this for Thanksgiving and there was no availablity for fresh cherries, however I found some very good frozen cherries that I used instead. It still turned out great. I found that I had to use an extra cup of the frozen cherries and I did drain out the juice from thawing. It wasn't too runny and it tasted divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
This recipe is so easy & yummy! It is worth taking the time to pit fresh cherries. Alternative natural taste insead of using tapioca: Mash cherries & add 1/4 cup water so that the cherry liquid equals 3/4 cup, Add smashed cherry liquid to a small pan with 2 1/2 Tbls Cornstarch, 1 cup of white sugar, 1/8 tsp salt. Cook, stirring constantly until it thickens/gels for 2-3 minutes. Add the extracts, before you pour into pie shell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
This is a fairly standard cherry pie recipe. The pastry is very good. However, the addition of vanilla to the cherries gives the pie a commercial taste that negates the fresh cherries. I also prefer a runny pie to the gloppy one produced by the instant tapioca. Keep it simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
This is a good fresh cherry pie recipe. I find if I refrigerate the bottom crust, pie plate and all, that I don't get a soggy crust. Also always use a deep dish pie plate for fruit pies. Would recommend this recipe for novice bakers and those who have been at it for a while. Bake on ladies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
My husband and I have 4 cherry trees and this year I decided to make a pie from them. This recipe is amazing, my husband, a pie lover, said this was the best cherry pie he had ever had. I do recommend that you increase the almond extract to 1/2 tsp and the vanilla extract to 1 tsp. If you are going to take the trouble to pit the cherries then take the time to make the crust as well. I used the Butter Flakey Pie Crust recipe by Dana And if you have the means try to use very fine butter like Plugra (European butter, it comes in a 1 lb brick in a red wrapper) you can find it at Trader Joes, believe me IT DOES make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ripon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
I've got 3 pie cherry trees in my yard and I make a LOT of cherry pies each year, this recipe is it! The best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
this was my first attempt at making a cherry pie and it turned out amazing! tart cherries weren't available yet, so i used sweet. i was warned that sweet cherries have a tendency to result in "cherry pie soup", but the tapioca kept that from happening. i used the crisco pie crust recipe, which worked well with this. the almond and vanilla were a nice addition - the sweet cherries might have been a little dull without that little touch. thanks! i can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States