Baked Fresh Cherry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
This was the first cherry pie I've ever baked, and it turned out beautifully. I made a few changes, just because I had to work with frozen cherries instead of fresh: used ~7c fruit, and reduced ~4c of it in a saucepan to 1.5c before mixing into the filling. I also added a grated Granny Smith apple for body, and reduced the tapioca to 2T, since some reviewers commented that the pie wasn't juicy enough. Also omitted the vanilla. Consistency and taste were perfect! Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Very good! The almond and vanilla extract together gave it a wonderful flavor. I used frozen cherries and it worked well; about five cups. The consistency was perfect as well with the tapioca. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TCPHILLIPS
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Yummy! I used 2 cup of brown sugar instead of 1 cup white one. I substitute the tapioca with corn starch and almond extract with Amaretto Almond Liqueur. It is delicious! We love it! Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Followed recipe as written and it turned out pure cherry soup. Seriously, it was 1/2" of cherry water in my 1" pie pan. I used about 2 1/2 lbs of sweet cherries. Positively didn't skip any ingredients. I let it cool thoroughly. Maybe my cherries were extra watery, maybe my tapioca wasn't the right stuff. Maybe a day of refrigeration will tighten it up to something manageable. But the whole thing will still be a soggy mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
This is fabulous. Best cherry pie ever. Use the food processor flaky pie crust with it and it heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I used fresh cherries. One of the best I have every made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Best pie I have ever made. Hands down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPARKLE33
Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
This is a FANTASTIC and EASY recipe! I whipped it up in no time. I used the Publix frozen dark cherries 36 oz total (just over 4 c) and definitely could have used another 24 oz for more cherries. The flavor is wonderful! I will probably reduce the sugar to 3/4 c. due to the cherries already being naturally sweet it was slightly overbearing. I didn't butter the pre-made crust and came out just fine reducing putting added fat into the pie. The only thing wrong with the pie was it smelt so good that my boyfriend didn't want to wait and give it time to cool and was sort of liquidy - but I would not put that against the pie since the ice cream was melting off the plate the moment it touched the slice of pie. Thank you so much for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
This pie turned out great!! Everyone who tried it raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MimiA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Rifle, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Cherry pie is really the best with sour (re: early) cherries. These are so hard to find except frozen. I tried fresh sweet cherries and just not great. I would suggest half the tapioca to get a little more juice - but that's a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States