Baked Fresh Cherry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
followed recipe exactly. perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by counterjester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camden, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joi
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
Amazing. I was skeptical of the tapioca as this was my first time making a fresh fruit pie--I bought Kraft Minute Tapioca, and the pie wasn't soupy at all! With my lattice top--it also didn't bubble over. The pie tastes great, and I received lots of compliments. I used this with the "Pie Crust IV" recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camp Kinser, Okinawa, Japan
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
Made this with a little cornstarch instead of the tapioca - but otherwise true to the recipe - it was fantastic. My husband said this was the best pie I'd ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ursula Mann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alisha
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
I used 2 tbsps cornstarch, 1/2 cup sugar and cooked the cherries until thickened then added to the pie shell (which was from the frozen section, "tenderflake" yummy). I also threw in some raspberries just on top. Don't be afraid to be creative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisha

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
This pie was a big disappointment. I spent a long time making this pie (pitted the cherries with a knife) and then when I cut into it, it was so runny. I used cornstarch instead of the tapioca like other reviewers but it definitely was not enough to thicken all the cherry juice. I also found it to be a little too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
This is an awesome recipe. I made one of these yesterday for a house warming. It was so yummy, my husband asked me to bake another one for his parents, as well as a third to keep at home! I did increase the amount of sugar to 1 1/4 cups, as the cherries I used were very tart. To pit the cherries I used a small, hard plastic child's straw. It worked amazingly well. It popped the pits right out in seconds. Although, I must say, I will definitely be wearing gloves for this process next time! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
My husband is a huge cherry pie fan so we made this together one night. I like pies, but they aren't my favorite dessert by any stretch. But this now tops my favorite desserts. It was the best pie I've ever tasted. Hands down. We didn't have tapioca on hand so I followed the suggestion by one of the reviewers to cook the juice from the cherries with cornstarch. So yummy! Will make again in a heartbeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Awesome, increased van to 1 t and almond to 1/2 t. Also increased sugar to 1 & 1/2 c. Baked 450 10 minutes and then at 350 for 30 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SweetPea
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
We used fresh bing cherries and followed the recipe exactly. I put my husband to work on the pitting and he did a great job. We had so much fun doing it together we have decided to make one every year and to use this recipe. Painted the top with egg wash and put a star in the middle for the 4th. Once we arrived at the party, the pie was the main event. Served with vanilla ice cream and it was gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetPea
Home Town: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
Living In: O Fallon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
Made this today from fresh sour cherries. Pitting them by hand took awhile, but the effort was well worth it. Plan to make another to take for 4th of July picnic. Used Pillsbury prepared pie shells, and used the tip from another chef to make the lattice-work top. Painted the top with egg wash, and the pie is picture-perfect. Very tasty! Thanks/Lesley
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesley

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mohrsville, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States