Baked French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
I made this recipie for my daughters slumber party. I was very busy with the girls and forgot to make it the night before. I assembled it a couple of hours before breakfast. Then baked it. It turned out great. The girls loved it. I did not make the sauce, I was too tired...I just used maple syrup. It did stick to the pan, next time I will spray it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2001
I made this twice last year for the holidays and instead of chopping my own apples, I bought apple pie filling and used that instead. It came out great and everyone asked for the recipe. I also used a jar of caramel ice cream topping instead of making my own caramel sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2002
This was one of the "best" recipes I have ever made. It was a sure hit at a family breakfast get together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
This is the best baked french toast recipe I've tried yet. Maybe since I used Challah bread, mine was a bit drier and less like bread pudding (which I preferred). Too often I've ended up with a soggy bread, eggy mess. This actaully looked like french toast slices I had cooked in a pan. When I poured on the egg mixture the bread immediately soaked it up (and there were a few dry spots so I even added a couple more eggs) maybe that is the secret. I didn't do the apples (but will certainly try that) since I was also serving a crockpot oatmeal with apples and raisins. Instead, after baking, I arragned the slices on a platter, topped with fresh sliced bananas, and then drizzled the caramel sauce over them - delish!!! and quite an impressive presentation, too. You could even add walnuts or pecans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingston, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
I am NOT a good cook by any means, but this recipe turned out DELICIOUS! I found it was very easy to make, even though you had to prepare the night before. It tasted gourmet and looks very Martha-Stewartish (excellent presentation). I followed the recipe to the letter (though the recipe did not specify which types, I used granny smith apples and "light" brown sugar)I also sprinkled some powdered sugar over top. It was perfect with fruit salad. YUMMY - I will defintely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2002
This was so good. The sauce was very tasty. I would just make the sauce and serve it over ice cream. I made this Hawaiian Bread II, and it was a good choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKOONUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
I love this recipe and have used it to feed 50 people. They love it. It's easy and the syrup is divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
I just served this to a large group and my guest loved it! It was the hit of my brunch. The carmel sauce maked this dish very special
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
Delicious! The sauce really does pull it all together. My husband, who is not a big fan of apples, still loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
Though you must prepare this the night before, it is such a sweet delight. I actually gave some to my friends and they had smiles on their faces the next time I saw them wanting more. Wonderful!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Best Oven Baked French Toast

Make-ahead sweet breakfast casserole.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States