Baked French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I firsttried this recipefor christmans brunch last year/// what a hit... i make this for my boys and their friends for breakfast they love it,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
This is amazing! Made it for a bosses' day potluck at work today and I have had everyone ask for the recipe. I used a loaf of sliced Italian bread (found it in the bread section of my grocery store) and chopped the apples instead of slicing. The bread puffed up really nice. It was fantastic! Easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This is so good! I used Texas toast instead of french bread and I cut the bread into big chunks and mixed the apples in with the bread instead of just adding them on top. Loved the caramel sauce as well. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Made as directed. I was weary of the caramel sauce. I thought it would be too sticky sweet. But the sauce was really good! The dish was much better with the caramel sauce vs. maple syrup. Next time I will try using large cubes of french bread and tossing the apples in the spice/sugar mix before topping so that all of the apples get some of the spice/sugar. (Also, I used Granny Smith apples and they seemed too tart. I will try a less tart apple next time.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bucyrus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
I made this recipe once for a work putluck breakfast, since I could make it the night before and just bake it while getting ready in the morning. Well, once was all it took and I have not been able to make anything else for all potlucks after that. This is so delicious for for a group breakfast or brunch. I have even out it together and wrapped it up for my brother's family for Christmas morning breakfast. They just popped it in the oven while opening presents and reheated the sauce. Over the years of making this, I have discovered a few tips that I now use. I bake it for at least an hour and 15 minutes. I like a drier french toast and this seems to gift it the golden brown the recipe calls for. I use Granny Smith apples. The tartness with the sweetness of the sauce helps balance the flavor. Also, to slice the apples, if you have a mandolin or easy slicer, it goes so much faster and then you don't have to peel or core the apples. To lighten it up, I always use egg substitute. Even the harshest critics will never know the difference. Will continue to make this recipe for years to come. PS.This recipe title should be "Caramel Apple Baked French Toast" much more true to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
This french toast is a combination of rich french toast and delicious baked apple ~ covered in a deliciously light carmel sauce. It tastes as good as it smells. I double the ingredients and enjoy the meal twice! Everyone in the family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This recipe was ok. I do love breakfast recipes with apples, andI've made several others that I prefer. For those of you that have not made this recipe, let me offer a few suggestions. The apples do taste great, but I expected them to end up more like pie filling. They were spiced apples on top of french toast. The caramel sauce is delicious, but it is just that, caramel sauce. If you do not want a caramel sauce on your french toast, syrup works just as well. The directions for making the sauce are vague. Cook on medium until it starts to boil, then put on medium-low and let simmer until it thickens. Also, check the bottom of your french toast after about 45 minutes. I cooked mine almost an hour and the bottom did not stick to the pan, but it was overcooked. I did like the taste of the french toast without the apples, but the combination of the apples, toast and caramel sauce was a little much for our family. It may work well for others though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Easy to make...delicious flavor....not sure if it was meant to be soggy. I baked it for an hour, but I expected the bread to be crusty. I used apple pie filling...the family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Hoffman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
This is Wonderful! Got this recipe from a co-worker to make Christmas morning. She often brings it for staff functions. The base bread and egg mixture look to be very versatile. The sauce is delicious but not good for my family's dietary needs. We will be trying different fruit toppings like apples with nuts or raisins; bananas and strawberries; and blueberries, all with less or different sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Yum! Doesn't feed 12 people...I fed 7 with this recipe. After cutting up the one pound loaf of bread, I found it didn't all fit in one layer in my 13X9 baking dish, so I also used a 8X8 pan and just whipped up some more egg/milk/vanilla/sugar mixture. This was not soggy at all like others have said. The carmel sauce is a nice substitute for syrup. I made that the night before to, then just heated in the microwave the next morning and topped the toast. I also used a can of apple pie filling instead of peeling and cutting apples- worked very well. Will make again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom2Be!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hudson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States