Baked French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
This was easy and good... I used whole wheat french bread, it gave it a nuttier taste, went well with the apples. You could easily change out the fruit to pears, or pineapple and change the sauce up a bit. We loved it... easy and it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I made this last night for today's breakfast. Didn't have enough apples but made it anyway. Super easy to make and a great way to use up my hardening french bread. This morning I was just too lazy to make the sauce so I just added maple syrup on top and it was still great! I will be making this again. I am sure if I made this for more than myself, I would be adding the syrup as it sounds divine. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
ABSOLUTELY loved this recipe!! I had to adapt it for a gluten free diet and made the following changes : Lined the bottom of a greased 9x13 inch pan with Udi's whole grain GF bread. Mixed 4 eggs, 1/2 cup milk, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp vanilla, and 1/3 cup sugar. Pour over the bread. I let it sit for about 30 minutes then flipped the bread over. I used canned apples slices (I sliced them a little to make them thinner and to make them go farther), and placed them on the bread. I sprinkled with coarsely chopped pecans and brown sugar. I refrigerated over night. In the morning I put the glass pan in a COLD oven at 400 degrees. I baked for 40 minutes. It REALLY crisped up nicely! I warmed up some store bought caramel sausce and drizzled over each piece when serving. This was so amzingly good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by torianne31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harlem, Georgia, USA
Living In: Willow Spring, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Made exactly as directed and did not care for at all. My husband liked the super sweet sauce ok, but the french toast itself was not to our liking. He ate 1 piece, I ate 1/2 piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Very sweet, but truly yummy. It worked for me without marinating the bread overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ACL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I fixed this for our family for Christmas breakfast and it was a hit! So easy and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri Tracy Berry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Outstanding!! Everyone loved it and I loved the sliced apples on top. I sliced up french bread before it got too hard and froze in a ziploc bag. Then I just pulled out the slices and made this recipe as is, except I did add one extra egg. The pan fed 5 and would likely have fed 6, but not 12. I made the yummy caramel sauce (and also added chopped walnuts on top), but I think maple syrup sounds like a great alternative as well. I used whole milk and some leftover cream, but will go lowfat next time with 1% milk. 3 apples is plenty on top. Wonderful for serving guests. Thanks for sharing, I will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
My family LOVED this. I did it exactly as the directions said. The caramel sauce was incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This was fantastic! I loved this recipe because it is relatively low in fat and was so easy to make. I used Sweet Hawaiian bread cut into thick slices, and followed the recipe pretty much exactly, except I did sprinkle the top with chopped pecans. It was so delicious. I did not make the caramel sauce, though I'm sure it would be amazing too. I just topped it with maple syrup. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cecilia Parkinson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Huge hit with all the whole family this Christmas Day!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lublin, Lublin, Poland
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Best Oven Baked French Toast

Make-ahead sweet breakfast casserole.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States