Baked French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I made this for Christmas morning. The bread was soggy on the bottom and too crunchy on the top. The flavours were good, but I don't think I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Yummy but very sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I really liked these, and they were a big hit at our Thanksgiving party last week, but I plan on making a few changes next time. I'll probably slice half of the apples into rings, and the other half into cubes. I'll toss the apples with the spices instead sprinkling them too. Then, instead of slicing the baguette into 1 1/2 inch slices, I'll probably slice them a lot thinner to make two layers of bread that I can sandwich the apple-rings between and then top with the cubes. I'm still thinking of a way to make this more like fried french-toast instead of bread-pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Our whole family loved this! I only had 2 apples and that seemed like plenty, but I'm sure 6 would be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Loudonville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I've tried many other baked french toast recipes with little success. When my husband told me this was a keeper I knew I finally found a keeper. I thought the syrup was a bit too sweet but thats an easy fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by singlemomcooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rock Falls, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
I thought this was great! Would make it again. I didn't have time to refrigerate it overnight. So, put it in the refrigerator for 1 hour. Also, cut pieces of bread into small chunks instead of slices. Worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
This was delicious! I substituted canned apples to shorten the prep time. The sauce is AMAZING! DO NOT LEAVE IT OUT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This was easy to make, and I appreciate being able to make it the night before. The taste was good, our favourite part was the apples on top. I didn't make the caramel sauce, because frankly - I don't want to become fat and diabetic and sugar glazes aren't necessary on breakfast food (my personal opinion). A bit of maple syrup finished it off nicely, I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pepper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I made this for Saturday breakfast for my family and everyone loved it!!!! My husband is already asking when I'm going to make it again. I made it just how the recipe called except I used whole milk. Since i prepared it the night before it was super easy and the sauce really did pull it all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I made this for dessert (with vanilla ice cream) and it was a big hit. Used the recipe as directed, but I only refrigerated it for 3 hours before baking. I wasn't sure whether it should be baked covered or uncovered, so I left if covered with aluminum foil for 35 minutes, and baked uncovered for the last 25. That worked well. Also appreciated the tip about boiling the caramel sauce then reducing the heat. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Best Oven Baked French Toast

Make-ahead sweet breakfast casserole.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States