Baked French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I never had baked French Toast before, so when a friend wanted to stop in early one morning, while her husband was having health tests, I decided it was time. I prepared the recipe just exactly as written. It was very good! It was very custard like. I will make this again, but won't use as much milk. I think it will become a 5 star recipe then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
One suggestion that makes it less soggy is using day old bagels. If they are cinnamon raisin or another sweet type bagel or plain it works well. Slice in half and be sure to saturate both sides of the bagel. Bagels will absorb a lot of the egg/milk that you soak them in but will not get soggy like regular bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Kind of soggy but everyone liked it. I toasted the bread first
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tyler Frazier

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Amazing! I made this for my family to wake up to on Christmas morning and everyone was absolutely loving it! Next time I would just use less of the egg/milk mixture because the bottom of the french toast was a little runny, and I like things more well-done. But if you like things more runny, leave it the way it is, because I got NO complaints!! De-Lish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Martinez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Really good and easy! I might increase the butter or decrease the brown sugar since as the french toast cools a bit, that mix gets hard and crunchy. Will make again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terriyaki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I can't tell you how many times I have made this! Every girls weekend I am in charge of breakfast and as always, everyone LOVES it! The only thing I do different is I use fat free cream and skim milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
EXCELLENT! I did make changes per reviews. I used 6 eggs, 2 cups half & half (no milk), 2 tsp vanilla and 1/4 tsp of cinnamon. I only soaked about 6 hours (made for dinner). Next time I will slice bread in 2" slices (as another reviewer suggested) so all slices fit in pan. Sit out for a bit while heating oven, poured sauce over and baked at 400 for about 30 minutes. Lowered to 350 and let bake until it no longer looked soggy. All 7 family members loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Another tip...Use 1 to 2 day old bread. The drier the bread the more liquid it will soak up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
As with anything, I make my own adjustments. But this recipe was delicious.... thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katrinangel2

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Made it as specified but substituted organic maple syrup for the corn syrup. That stuff is sooooo bad for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Oven Baked French Toast

Make-ahead sweet breakfast casserole.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States