Baked French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
We made it today and loved it! I read many reviews about it "being soggy" so I took one person advice and cut bigger pieces and dipped the pieces instead of pouring it over. I also used two loaves of bread with the recipe above. I made double the sauce though(It probably could have just been 1 1/2 instead of doubled)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Beam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jcasper5983
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I followed this recipe to the T!!! It was disgusting. Completely soggy, watery, it was just gross. Very disappointed. I was looking forward to making this for my parents on Thanksgiving morning. There's no way I can serve this. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
My family loves this! No need for syrup! It's perfect the way it is. I changed nothing and made it according to the recipe. We topped it with fresh raspberries and whipped cream! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
loved it! I only got 10 slices in the pan instead of 12, but the ratio was fine! I also had heavy cream instead of half&half, not sure how much difference it made... I knew it was done when it puffed up in the middle, like a souffle... not 40 mins, but I'm still calibrating my new oven. The caramel sauce from the bottom drizzled over it like maple syrup was to die for! This will be served often here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
DO NOT make this recipe as is. Take into consideration the reviews and decrease the amount of liquid in the recipe. Mine ended up crispy on the top and the rest mush. Good flavor, just NOT the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Biggs
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Use thicker slices and bake a little longer and then there is no need to tweak this receipe...I used challah bread..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Made this for 5 nine year old boys & a 4 year old boy. It was a hit! Tasted great with no recipe modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Soggy...Soggy! Way too much liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I loved this recipe! It's breakfast and a cinnamon roll at the same time. Since there are only three of us, I adjusted it this way and it was perfect, plus lactose free:1/2 loaf of French bread/6 1" slices, 4 eggs, 1 cup lactose free milk, 1 t. vanilla, 1/8 t. cinnamon and I halved the topping, but used Dark Karo instead of light. Did what a few others did by turning the pieces of bread over before cooking, covering it for the first 20 mins, and pouring the topping over and cooking it uncovered the last 20 mins. It was DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States