Baked French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by jcasper5983
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I followed this recipe to the T!!! It was disgusting. Completely soggy, watery, it was just gross. Very disappointed. I was looking forward to making this for my parents on Thanksgiving morning. There's no way I can serve this. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
My family loves this! No need for syrup! It's perfect the way it is. I changed nothing and made it according to the recipe. We topped it with fresh raspberries and whipped cream! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
loved it! I only got 10 slices in the pan instead of 12, but the ratio was fine! I also had heavy cream instead of half&half, not sure how much difference it made... I knew it was done when it puffed up in the middle, like a souffle... not 40 mins, but I'm still calibrating my new oven. The caramel sauce from the bottom drizzled over it like maple syrup was to die for! This will be served often here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
DO NOT make this recipe as is. Take into consideration the reviews and decrease the amount of liquid in the recipe. Mine ended up crispy on the top and the rest mush. Good flavor, just NOT the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Biggs
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Use thicker slices and bake a little longer and then there is no need to tweak this receipe...I used challah bread..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Made this for 5 nine year old boys & a 4 year old boy. It was a hit! Tasted great with no recipe modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Soggy...Soggy! Way too much liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I loved this recipe! It's breakfast and a cinnamon roll at the same time. Since there are only three of us, I adjusted it this way and it was perfect, plus lactose free:1/2 loaf of French bread/6 1" slices, 4 eggs, 1 cup lactose free milk, 1 t. vanilla, 1/8 t. cinnamon and I halved the topping, but used Dark Karo instead of light. Did what a few others did by turning the pieces of bread over before cooking, covering it for the first 20 mins, and pouring the topping over and cooking it uncovered the last 20 mins. It was DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MSDPT
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Soooooo yummy! I used 1 cup skim (all I had) about 1/4 cup fat fee half and half and 3/4 cup light egg nog (again what I had in the fridge with 6 egg beaters. It did cook closer to 1 hr, but I used challa bread. For the topping I used part pure maple Sugar crystals instead of the Karo syrup and just a swirl if maye syrup. I didn't have quite enough butter in hand, but it still came out delicious. Granted I changed a lot, but I'm not sure what these critical reviews are about. If you don't like it custard like them let up in the liquid and cook it longer. It's a matter if preference, not a problem with the underlying recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States