Baked French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
LOVE, LOVE , LOVE THIS RECIPE. I made this for the past two years only thing was i had more people this year so i kinda of doubled the bread , used 12 eggs instead just tweeked a little dab more brown sugar litle more milk. Family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Easily made in advance for next morning oven. Very tasty. The second time I made, I sliced the bread a bit wider and used the same liquid volume ingredients - improved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I had this at my sisters house for our Christmas breakfast. She didn't make any modifications. I didn't know what it was, I just ate some and it was great so I asked her for the recipe. That's when I found out it was french toast. I've read many of the reviews and seen that lot's of people are making changes to the recipe because it comes out too wet. Well maybe so for french toast. When I made it at home I made one modification, I changed the name to "Bead Pudding" and served it for desert! It tastes just like what we get at Chef Point Cafe just outside of Fort Worth, Texas. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This was GREAT! Crunchy on top and creamy underneath. I loved it! The only thing different I did was tore the bread in pieces. It only made the recipe easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
First off it calls for WAY too much liquid, which I mixed as directed, but I didn't use even half on a loaf and a half of sliced bread. I just lightly greased a sheet of parchment paper placed inside my pan so sticking wasn't an issue. No matter how long I let it cook 10min longer than suggested but it still never toasted, just remained a soggy mess. I even tried to pan fry it after 40min out of desperation because I was using this recipe to feed people a New Years breakfast and it was just a mess!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LovesBaking
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I read the rest of the reviews before I started and I'm glad I tweaked it according to what the reviewers had written. I used 7 eggs and 1 1/2cups milk only. I also reduced the sugar and butter caramel. The result was a crispy top and a soft bottom. My colleagues who had it like it too. I'll attempt this again for my family members next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LovesBaking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hougang, North-East Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Reduce liquid*. I made this with 2 cups of milk and seven eggs, omitted the half and half and the center was still soggy, outside crispy and delicious! After reading reviews in the future I plan on using the 1in French bread but letting it get a little stale prior to adding the liquid and flipping the bread to help soak up to liquid. As for the liquid 6 eggs and 1 3/4cups of milk or half and half and milk combined, I don't think I'll be adding more than that. For the topping, I used 1/2 cup of butter and 1 cup of brown sugar, maple syrup, this was just perfect. Overall great dish and one you can be creative with and will taste great even if a little soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Oh yeah; it was good. Ended up using the changes Michelle Mullis suggested. Only change I made from there was cutting that recipe in half to share between my wife and I. I ate most of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Clovis, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Yes I have prepared this dish quite a few times and I love it as do my guests! I make it with Croissant rolls that I cut in half instead of French bread! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rockerchick
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I made this for Christmas brunch it was a hit! I did a few of the tweaks that users recommended and it was perfect! Dried the French bread slightly the night before in the oven on 200 on both sides for about 20 minutes total. I used six or seven eggs and I cut the milk down to one cup. I used a teaspoon and a half of cinnamon. And I used maple syrup instead of light syrup for the topping. I flipped the bread halfway through the overnight soaking process so it went completely through on both sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States