Baked French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I have made this exactly as the recipe is written and is a favorite of my family... IN FACT, have it ready to put in the oven for Christmas breakfast... everyone is SO looking forward to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
My whole family LOVES this recipe! I use it with whatever bread product (any type of plain flavor bread, buns, dinner rolls etc.) I have left over and it works every time. My favorite are dinner rolls and burger buns from the old-fashioned bakery where I work! I also use a slightly bigger (and deeper) pan than a 9x13 and the topping doesn't bubble over this way. Otherwise, just try placing the pan on a foil-covered cookie sheet to save yourself from cleaning a mess! I just fill this pan with a layer (at least 1 in. thick) of bread/buns and then pour over about half of the egg/milk mixture. Repeat and refrigerate covered overnight! I use 10-12 eggs and 4 cups of whole milk as well as about 1/2 cup of flour and 1/4 cup of sugar and 1/2 tsp cinnamon plus the vanilla in the egg/milk mixture! Next morning, I make the topping and bake as directed! It is a bit like bread pudding only a lot better! Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Rave reviews from a teenage sleepover party. I cut the bread a bit thin and had to use a 13x9 and an 8x8. Even using both dishes I was upset that one bubbled over and burnt in the bottom of the oven. Next time I will use a bit less liquid and a taller casserole. Other than that the flavor was great. Thanks for posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I made it for Thanksgiving morning and it was devoured- even by my husband, who is a maple syrup purist. He loved it just the way it was. It even reheated pretty well! A winner (but with challah)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
This was very good. After reading the reviews, I did modify it some in ways that made sense to me. Now that I have made it, what I will do differently next time is make it less sweet by using less of the butter, brown sugar & corn syrup topping. I love sweet, but this is really, really sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakerBee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Awesome!! Everyone was fighting over the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I made this this morning for overnight guest and it was a hit. The only thing I changed was using maple syrup, for I was out of corn syrup. The consistency was fine & the taste was enjoyable. I will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
We made it today and loved it! I read many reviews about it "being soggy" so I took one person advice and cut bigger pieces and dipped the pieces instead of pouring it over. I also used two loaves of bread with the recipe above. I made double the sauce though(It probably could have just been 1 1/2 instead of doubled)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jcasper5983
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I followed this recipe to the T!!! It was disgusting. Completely soggy, watery, it was just gross. Very disappointed. I was looking forward to making this for my parents on Thanksgiving morning. There's no way I can serve this. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
My family loves this! No need for syrup! It's perfect the way it is. I changed nothing and made it according to the recipe. We topped it with fresh raspberries and whipped cream! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,093) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States