Baked French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
As is, this recipe is excellent. A few important points to be stated. First, a nice dense French bread must be used for it to hold its shape and it must be left overnight to have time to absorb the liquids. It should also be allowed to come to room temperature before baking. This recipe is meant to have a bread pudding consistency and I have even made it by cubing the bread and adding apple chunks, cranberries and raisins. Awesome dessert. I think what most reviewers are looking for from a consistency standpoint based on the modifications/reviews I've read is "Overnight French Toast, found in Company's Coming Christmas Edition". I've made this for years for Christmas morning. It is the number 1 request from the extended family that comes to brunch. It doesn't use the sweet sauce poured over it. Instead, I serve it with pure maple syrup, or warmed apple, peach and/or strawberry preserves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I'm not much for French toast, but I love this. I've made it twice since I found the recipe last month. The only thing I added was chopped pecans before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Veedersburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
5 stars with modifications! Like others have said, 6 eggs only 1 1/2 cups liquid, I did 3/4 half and half, 3/4 milk. cook for 20 minutes turn over and finish for another 20. I agree that you shouldn't have to read the reviews to get a recipe perfected but I appreciate all the chefs out there that take the time to post their changes! They save me time and money!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoenix3

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I was really looking forward to trying this dish for breakfast and the end results was disappointing. The taste was way to eggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Megzilla
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Because I love Carmel I doubled the amounts for the Carmel sauce on top. It was awesome but extremely rich in my opinion. The company I had over loved it as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megzilla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
LOVE, LOVE , LOVE THIS RECIPE. I made this for the past two years only thing was i had more people this year so i kinda of doubled the bread , used 12 eggs instead just tweeked a little dab more brown sugar litle more milk. Family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Easily made in advance for next morning oven. Very tasty. The second time I made, I sliced the bread a bit wider and used the same liquid volume ingredients - improved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I had this at my sisters house for our Christmas breakfast. She didn't make any modifications. I didn't know what it was, I just ate some and it was great so I asked her for the recipe. That's when I found out it was french toast. I've read many of the reviews and seen that lot's of people are making changes to the recipe because it comes out too wet. Well maybe so for french toast. When I made it at home I made one modification, I changed the name to "Bead Pudding" and served it for desert! It tastes just like what we get at Chef Point Cafe just outside of Fort Worth, Texas. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This was GREAT! Crunchy on top and creamy underneath. I loved it! The only thing different I did was tore the bread in pieces. It only made the recipe easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
First off it calls for WAY too much liquid, which I mixed as directed, but I didn't use even half on a loaf and a half of sliced bread. I just lightly greased a sheet of parchment paper placed inside my pan so sticking wasn't an issue. No matter how long I let it cook 10min longer than suggested but it still never toasted, just remained a soggy mess. I even tried to pan fry it after 40min out of desperation because I was using this recipe to feed people a New Years breakfast and it was just a mess!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States