Baked French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
this did not turn out well - too soupy. if you make it, use a bigger baking dish and just 2 cups of half and half, no milk. Probably could get by with 6 eggs and the 2 cups of half and half Like some others said, turn the bread over before baking and bake for 20 minutes covered and then add the topping and bake another 20 - 25 minutes uncovered or until no longer soupy. Pat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
This recipe turned out great! I also only used 6 eggs and 2 cups of half and half, no milk. I also used regular white sandwich bread instead of French bread and it turned out great! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I did not care for this recipe. Wish I would have read the reviews first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I am surprised by the 1,2, and 3 star reviews for this recipe. Those that did not like it probably don't like French Toast. I have made it many times and the only change I made was to use sugarless syrup instead of the brown sugar, syrup, butter mix. Try cutting the bread a little thinner and put a layer of sliced bananas between two layers of bread. If your oven is coming up to the correct temp you don't need to change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
My family and I loved this recipe. My husband and son both took seconds. I followed the recipe; changed nothing. I will make it again, however I will use a larger baking pan as the bread puffed up and the liquids overflowed a bit. The toast comes out in a state much like a custard; so yummy, rich, and decadent. It was the perfect recipe for New Year's Day morning. I turned on the oven and took the chilled toast out of the fridge. Then I prepared the topping while the oven preheated. By the time the oven temp was ready, so was the topping. I poured the topping over the toast and popped the pan into the oven. Approx. 45 minutes later it was done and we were about to be treated to a wonderful warm breakfast. In short, a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Beezoes
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Made it per the recipe and it was fabulous! Cooked extra 10 min for the soggy middle issue but let sit for 10 min after taking out of the oven & everything was great. Very hot so it needs to cool before serving. Really more like a bread pudding than frenchtoast but would be awesome holiday breakfast for a group. Mimosas, fresh fruit and you're set. Next time might try adding bit of brandy & cream cheese for some of the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
This has a good flavor and is easy to make, but it is too moist. I even left out some of the egg/milk mix because I thought it was too much, and then it was still very mushy. I will make this again but with probably half the milk & half and half. I also added 1/2 cup chopped pecans before pouring on the caramel glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Upon removal from the oven, it was so soggy and unappetizing. I turned everything over and baked for another 20 minutes. I've changed the recipe based on tips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FearlessKnitter

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Park Forest, Illinois, USA
Living In: Woodridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by blueeyescd
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Made this for New Year's Day breakfast. We absolutely loved it!! I made it exactly as written except for using 2 c half and half and turning the bread over in the dish before baking. It came out perfect. Not too mushy. I think the extra milk might have made it a bit soggy. I topped it with chopped pecans before baking. Thank you for this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I loved it just as it is. Gooey center and all!! I did flip the bread part way through the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Oven Baked French Toast

Make-ahead sweet breakfast casserole.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States