Baked French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I tried this last night and when I tell you its good, OFF THE CHAIN! Of course I put my on spin but not much. I took some advice from other commenters and left out the milk, 2c half and half, 6 eggs, much more cinnamon maybe 2-3tb(the best part),1/2t ground cloves,1/2t ground allspice. I don't have time to be soaking bread(because I'm ready to eat)I soaked for about 40m turning the bread over after 20m then cooked as directed. For the sauce, I didn't have corn syrup so guess what, didn't miss it lol. My growing boys almost finished the pan, I had to say, "you had enough"! I thought it was a little eggy so next time I'll try 5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Amazing with the changes I made. Everyone loves it and it will be our Christmas breakfast. I used 1/2 loaf home made wheat bread, 6 eggs, 2 cups milk, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp pumpkin pie spice, 1/2 cup pumpkin. I dipped the bread before putting it in the pan. There was very little liquid left. Soaked over night and used honey instead of kero syrup. It was amazing. We also cooked it a little longer uncovered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
For some reason the bread did not get done. It was very mushy on the bottom while the top was crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RandomMeltingLeelee
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
#bakedfrenchtoast first impression. ..a little like a bread pudding. ...flavor good tho...and used a lot less butter then traditional #FrenchToast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I make this for my family at least once a month. It's perfect as written. If you want less "custardy" bread, don't use fresh, soft bread - let it get stale a day or two and toughen up. If your slices are submerged, they will be more "custardy" just cut them thicker to prevent this if you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian Berry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
This is a great recipe left alone. I think the confusion is that people are using French Bread from the bakery. I used a 1 pound(16oz) loaf of Franz French Bread from the bread isle at the grocery store. I think we cannot actually tell how much bread is in one loaf from the bakery. I cut the slices of bread each diagonally, this arranged much easier in the pan and allows the bread to soak up the mixture better and bakes nicer and evenly. I did Not have to flip over the bread every 20 min. The Baked French Toast turned out absolutely Wonderful this way. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leasa Faw Briggs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Helena, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I first made this for my daughter and her husband. I had gone to stay with them for 3 weeks when they had my first grand child. It was a hit, probably took some of the sting out of my staying for so long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcadia, California, USA
Living In: Calabasas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
The little ones really love this when we are camping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
my house loves this recipe. I use random bread... everything left in the kitchen, hamburger buns, bagels, english muffins, etc. Ive made it several ways, including with almond milk instead of cream. When i didn't have light corn syrup i used more brown sugar and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I followed another reviewer's advice, 6 eggs, 2 cups 1/2&1/2, cinnamon and vanilla, and this turned out very well. My only complaint was that it didn't get as "done" as I like my french toast. The center was still fairly runny. The topping, however, is amazing, and really saved the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States