Baked French Swirl Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Great! My family loved it & was very easy. For my family's taste, I left out the cranberries & the rasins. Was still very good. Warms up very well, for the left overs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I wanted to have it for Christmas morning but it was a disaster. I followed the recipe exactly as it is written. I baked it for 45 minutes and it was very mushy inside. I baked for an additional 30 minutes and it was still mushy. I turned on the convection for another 30 minutes and it was still mushy. I think if you use 2 cups of milk instead of 3 cups of milk it will cook in the middle. I was disappointed because I think this recipe has potential - if you cut down on the milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I made this for our Bowling League potluck and it came out beautifully. It was so easy to make - I made it the night before and then set it out early the next morning to cool off before baking. I used raisons since I didn't have any cranberrys. The dish is not too sweet so adding the maple syrup makes it perfect. The left overs were great the next day too. I plan to make this Christmas morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
I've always found that the longer you let french toast casserole sit, the better chances you have at it turning out. I made a few small changes: I used a can of fat free evaporated milk for most of the milk and then just adding additional regular milk up to three cups and instead of waiting to sprinkle the cinnamon-sugar over the top after baking, I did it after I poured the egg/milk mixture over the cubed bread. I also over-greased my baking dish REALLY well as I've learned from past experiances that french toast casseroles love to stick. This was a little mushy but for the most part, it was quite good. I warmed some homemade maple-vanilla syrup and we had that over the top. I'd make this again, though I think I might cut an egg out and some of the milk called for. I think it might be perfect then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bobo's Mama
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
This couldn't have been any easier. I prepared it the night before and threw it in the oven when I woke up. When I brought it in for our breakfast pot luck it was still warm and was devoured! I got many requests for this recipe. It is a very impressive dish that takes little work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobo's Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Utica, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
After reading a lot of the other reviews, I used less liquid and baked much longer than said at a higher temperature - it still ended up very mushy. Basically, this is a bread pudding recipe because that is the final texture. If you don't like bread pudding, don't make this recipe. If I were ever to make it again, I would use even less liquid, bake in a very shallow pan and spread it very thin across the bottom of the baking dish to force more of it to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brunswick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I've made this recipe a couple of tiimes and the first time I made it, it did not come out that well as many of the reviews have stated. However, I saw the potential in it and tweaked it until it came out great. I reduced the eggs to 5 and only used 2 cups of milk then let it bake for an hour at 350 degrees. Once it came out of the oven, I let it sit uncovered for another 20-25 minutes before I served it to allow the center to become a bit firmer. It came out amazing. Even my picky nephews loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Stratford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Based on the comments here, I reduced the milk (I used skim) to 2.5 cups. I baked it in a 9x13 dish, so it was shallow, soaked it overnight, then gave it a quick toss before baking to wet any bits that still looked dry. I had no trouble with mushiness at all. As some had mentioned blandness, I added extra cinnamon and a sprinkle of pecan chips. Easy, delicious and smelled great. I'll definitely make this again. Would be great with apples, berries or other fruit, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
If it is mushy when you eat it, you need to let it sit and cool a little. I thought it was mushy when I first tried it, too. But later on I picked up a piece that had been sitting there for like 30 minutes and ate it and it was perfect, and all the pieces that were reheated afterwords were fine. I know it sounds like "eww... leaving my food sit out." But it's only french toast, so it didn't bother me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
This recipe turned out great! I topped it with a little bit of homemade buttercream frosting instead of the butter and syrup, and it tasted fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz in MN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Boxed Stuffing

With a few key ingredients, you can make a delicious stuffing in just 15 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States