Baked French Swirl Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
This recipe turned out great! I topped it with a little bit of homemade buttercream frosting instead of the butter and syrup, and it tasted fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz in MN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This dish had a very good flavor but it was a little to soggy and mushy for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Awesome Christmas breakfast!!!!!!!!!! Made it 2 years in a row. Kids loved it!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I thought this tasted much better the 2nd time I heated it. It was kinda mushy the 1st time around. I am going to stick with the Sausage Brunch Casserole recipe next time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDOWNING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I tried to make this for Christmas morning, but it was a soggy mess. I think I will try it again, but I will use less milk, and probably a much more shallow pan. It has potential, but it didn't add anything to our holiday this year. Luckily I had other breakfast foods prepared as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
made this for christmas breakfast. it was a big hit. we used maple butter and sryup on top. we will definitly make more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Findlay, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly, except I used egg beaters in place of the eggs to lower the fat content. Very good side dish for a brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryland mom
Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I wanted to have it for Christmas morning but it was a disaster. I followed the recipe exactly as it is written. I baked it for 45 minutes and it was very mushy inside. I baked for an additional 30 minutes and it was still mushy. I turned on the convection for another 30 minutes and it was still mushy. I think if you use 2 cups of milk instead of 3 cups of milk it will cook in the middle. I was disappointed because I think this recipe has potential - if you cut down on the milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
very good and very easy. great because it isn't too sweet so when you add the syrup it's just right. i'll give it 5 stars because this is the first time i've eaten or made "baked" french toast so i have nothing else to compare this to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perth, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Made this ahead per the instructions. It took longer to cook (I do have an actual thermometer in the oven to check the temp); I had to add extra time to get the eggs fully cooked. By the time the eggs were done, the top was way to crispy and bordering on burned. It tasted good after working around the crispy top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Boxed Stuffing

With a few key ingredients, you can make a delicious stuffing in just 15 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States