Baked French Swirl Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
After reading a lot of the other reviews, I used less liquid and baked much longer than said at a higher temperature - it still ended up very mushy. Basically, this is a bread pudding recipe because that is the final texture. If you don't like bread pudding, don't make this recipe. If I were ever to make it again, I would use even less liquid, bake in a very shallow pan and spread it very thin across the bottom of the baking dish to force more of it to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brunswick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I did not care for this recipe! I used a shallow baking dish and didn't even add all of the milk and egg mixture and it still turned out mushy, even after baking a bit longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by corbinsmom85

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delaware, Ohio, USA
Living In: Zanesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
everyone else loved it, but to me it tasted more like bread pudding, and i was not a big fan. I would not make it over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patricia pardo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Not sure what I did wrong! Did not turn out at all! The middle was very mushy even after cooking it longer than the allotted time. I followed the directions to a T. I cook all the time...and I have never had anything turn out like this. It did smell good while it was in the oven..and i think there is potential. Just wasn't there for me I guess. HAHA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyssa0587

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mackinaw, Illinois, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This was delicious; did not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I loved it! I added mini chocolate chips to make it a sweet treat! It reminded me of bread pudding. Also, I used egg beaters and 2 percent milk. It cooked for 45 minutes and was perfect in the center. I will keep this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
If it is mushy when you eat it, you need to let it sit and cool a little. I thought it was mushy when I first tried it, too. But later on I picked up a piece that had been sitting there for like 30 minutes and ate it and it was perfect, and all the pieces that were reheated afterwords were fine. I know it sounds like "eww... leaving my food sit out." But it's only french toast, so it didn't bother me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
I really loved this, it was soooo easy and yummy!!! I had it with raisins instead because they are my dad's favorite, and I made it for my family. They didn't have any Pepperidge Farm bread where I went but the store had it's own brand and it was fine. It seems impressive to the people you serve it to but it's not that much work. Thanks for submitting, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
mushy middle - i think that's just how these casseroles are
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
I love this recipe, I make it all the time because it keeps well for several days. I make it just as the recipes states with 2 exceptions. I use 3 tsp of vanilla and dried blueberries instead. This one is so easy, just let it all sit overnight and bake in the morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Boxed Stuffing

With a few key ingredients, you can make a delicious stuffing in just 15 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States