Baked French Swirl Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Based on the comments here, I reduced the milk (I used skim) to 2.5 cups. I baked it in a 9x13 dish, so it was shallow, soaked it overnight, then gave it a quick toss before baking to wet any bits that still looked dry. I had no trouble with mushiness at all. As some had mentioned blandness, I added extra cinnamon and a sprinkle of pecan chips. Easy, delicious and smelled great. I'll definitely make this again. Would be great with apples, berries or other fruit, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
This recipe was very bland. I did not add the raisins and cranberries due to my family's dislike for them. I baked it in a square deep dish baking stone. I had to bake it 10 minutes longer turning it up to 375. I believe the cinnamon swirl and raisin bread would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
I've always found that the longer you let french toast casserole sit, the better chances you have at it turning out. I made a few small changes: I used a can of fat free evaporated milk for most of the milk and then just adding additional regular milk up to three cups and instead of waiting to sprinkle the cinnamon-sugar over the top after baking, I did it after I poured the egg/milk mixture over the cubed bread. I also over-greased my baking dish REALLY well as I've learned from past experiances that french toast casseroles love to stick. This was a little mushy but for the most part, it was quite good. I warmed some homemade maple-vanilla syrup and we had that over the top. I'd make this again, though I think I might cut an egg out and some of the milk called for. I think it might be perfect then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I made this to serve 4 people. We had two houseguests staying with us. It was such a hit that I might have one serving left. I assembled it the day ahead and let it soak in the fridge. Very quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steveweis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wixom, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
Like so many others I found this to be bland & too wet. I tried it as written & some adjustments but it hasn't worked for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muddyh2os

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tunkhannock, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Awesome! I took the advice of another review and used 5 eggs & 2 cups milk and baked it in a 13X9 pan on 350 for 1 hour. It was crispy and still alittle soft (not mushy) the whole family loved it!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Merlin08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
This was great! I used cranberries and raisins but next time I am going to use the cinnamon raisin swirl bread and then add cranberries! Yes it was a tad mushy but kinda expected that you know with bread and milk ;-). I was really good and super easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by klynn73

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellaire, Texas, USA
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I've made this recipe a couple of tiimes and the first time I made it, it did not come out that well as many of the reviews have stated. However, I saw the potential in it and tweaked it until it came out great. I reduced the eggs to 5 and only used 2 cups of milk then let it bake for an hour at 350 degrees. Once it came out of the oven, I let it sit uncovered for another 20-25 minutes before I served it to allow the center to become a bit firmer. It came out amazing. Even my picky nephews loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Stratford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Will try again but the center was sort of soft even after baking it for ten minutes more then the recipe said. I think maybe less eggs or at least an hour to bake might help. Other then being mushy it had a nice taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Disappointed! I couldn't wait for this to come out of the oven because it smells really good, but it was very bland! Maybe with some major adjustments it would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Boxed Stuffing

With a few key ingredients, you can make a delicious stuffing in just 15 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States