Baked French Swirl Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Wonderful!!!! Made this the night before to have on Christmas morning - We all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
A great secondary brunch buffet dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ..thru his stomach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Evanston, Illinois, USA
Living In: Geneva, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I substituted 1/2 cup of eggnog for 1/2 milk and it worked beautifully. Next time I may go 2 cups milk 1 cup eggnog. I also used blueberry Craisins which was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I could easily give this more than 5 stars. So delicious and simple! Perfect for Christmas morning. Will definitely make over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I made this to bring to work for the holidays and was asked for the recipe immediately. Since many other reviewers had trouble with it being too moist I used 5 eggs and added a bit more bread to it. I prepared it in the evening and then cooked it the next morning for an hour. It's so easy and was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Based on the comments here, I reduced the milk (I used skim) to 2.5 cups. I baked it in a 9x13 dish, so it was shallow, soaked it overnight, then gave it a quick toss before baking to wet any bits that still looked dry. I had no trouble with mushiness at all. As some had mentioned blandness, I added extra cinnamon and a sprinkle of pecan chips. Easy, delicious and smelled great. I'll definitely make this again. Would be great with apples, berries or other fruit, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
This recipe was very bland. I did not add the raisins and cranberries due to my family's dislike for them. I baked it in a square deep dish baking stone. I had to bake it 10 minutes longer turning it up to 375. I believe the cinnamon swirl and raisin bread would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
I've always found that the longer you let french toast casserole sit, the better chances you have at it turning out. I made a few small changes: I used a can of fat free evaporated milk for most of the milk and then just adding additional regular milk up to three cups and instead of waiting to sprinkle the cinnamon-sugar over the top after baking, I did it after I poured the egg/milk mixture over the cubed bread. I also over-greased my baking dish REALLY well as I've learned from past experiances that french toast casseroles love to stick. This was a little mushy but for the most part, it was quite good. I warmed some homemade maple-vanilla syrup and we had that over the top. I'd make this again, though I think I might cut an egg out and some of the milk called for. I think it might be perfect then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I made this to serve 4 people. We had two houseguests staying with us. It was such a hit that I might have one serving left. I assembled it the day ahead and let it soak in the fridge. Very quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steveweis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wixom, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
Like so many others I found this to be bland & too wet. I tried it as written & some adjustments but it hasn't worked for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muddyh2os

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tunkhannock, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Boxed Stuffing

With a few key ingredients, you can make a delicious stuffing in just 15 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States