Baked French Fries II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2003
This was a great way to make homemade fries. I ended up adding all the ingredients into a ziploc bag and shaking it really well to evenly coat the fries. I placed them on a piece of foil (spray the foil so fries don't stick) on a baking sheet, and that made clean up super quick and easy. Great fries!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
391 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
These are a dream come true!! Great spicey healthy fries!! 5 stars all the way. I love them and they last well in the fridge a couple days and can be re-baked later. ****JUST REMEMBER to grease your baking sheet--I used wax paper--with an olive oil spray or some other flavored spray so they don't stick to the sheet!! I didn't grease my sheet the first time and it was torture to have to throw away those tasty fries and only be able to slowly pick off some. But ever since, the greased sheet works like a charm... : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CURTISLEE
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
This is an awesome recipe for healthy eating. Top notch side dishes are always hard to find. I paired these with Asian Tuna Patties, another great allrecipes submission. I may never eat another french fried potato again. Why would I when only 11% of the calories in this recipe are fat calories? It doesn't get much better than that. In trying to eat healthy, these french fries are a perfect choice for a side dish. I will be talking about these and using the recipe for the rest of my living years. As others have recommended, I did bag the Parmesan cheese and dried basil, coating the fries in three batches. I added salt and pepper separately. Enjoy! This is one recipe I would choose any day of the week, healthy recipe or not. Mmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
I've been trying to find creative uses for potatoes since we're now on a tight budget and potatoes are cheap. I used this cooking technique, but changed the ingredients. I lined my baking sheet with parchment paper and coated the fries with olive oil spray. I seasoned the fries with garlic salt and cajun spices and baked them in the oven for about 35-40 minutes (I don't see how 20 could be nearly enough... they were still very soggy, but I did toss them a couple times to make sure they cooked evenly). For the person with sticking issues, the parchment paper works perfectly. I crumbled some leftover gouda I had in the food processor and threw that on top in the last couple minutes, then added another light coating of olive oil spray and added some fresh snipped chives. Together with the grilled gouda burgers we made, we certainly didn't feel like we were on so tight a budget!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
Super easy to make, and a healthy alternative to frying. Very flavorful. The only change I made was adding a dashing of paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YUKONJAMIE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Living In: East Waterboro, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2002
Unfortanately for my thighs, this is a very good recipie. Add extra parm and kick up the spice level if you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
These turned out really good. Better than I had hoped! They went perfect with my turkey burger. After reading other reviewer's problems with them sticking to the pan, I decided to use parchment paper. I highly recommend this. I also used reduced fat parmesean and garlic salt rather than regular. They're so easy to make, too! The hardest part was slicing the potatoes, and I accomplished that before my oven was even finished preheating. I'll use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2002
Very good! I also used this recipe to make some tortilla chips (in place of the potatoes) for dipping and it was even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2001
These were delicious. We had them with chicken nuggets. My husband and I loved them! I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2003
These were okay, I think I actually sliced my potatoes too thinly because they got too crispy. Also, they didn't have much flavor, but I used real Parmesan instead of the stuff out of the jar, I think they may have actually been better with the cheap stuff. I may try again adding more flavor as I was looking for a good low fat potato recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Fries I

See the tasty way to make baked French fries.

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

These fries stay crispy even reheated in the microwave!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States