Baked Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
This is my favorite recipe for flan, and I don't change a thing. It's easy to prepare in the blender, and tastes like heaven. Everyone wants the recipe when I take it to a potluck. It's still jiggly when it's done, but firms up when it cools. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
This flan recipe was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I have made this recipe before and i decided to make it again today. Its very good but when i put the melted sugar in the dish it didnt spread so i put it on the stove to melt it in the glass dish some more when i put the glass dish into the water it exploded! SO today i learned that hot glass explodes if you put it into cooler water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
First thing to ever review out of all things I have made from the site. This is the BEST flan I have ever tasted or made, anywhere! Thanks so much, and if you have never had or made flan, make this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
They need more stars for this recipe. Ive eaten flan all over the caribbean and this one is by far the best !! I use only whole milk in this recipe and as one reviewer said Eagle brand sweetened condensed milk is really sweet I prefer Carnation brand. Also when I melt the sugar I use 1 cup of sugar, 2 tablespoons water and 1 drop of lemon juice, this helps the sugar not harden as quickly so you can get it in your souffle' dishes or casserole dish and swirl it around before the sugar hardens. This is absolutly the best flan recipe ever. Thank You for sharing !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy F.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Flantastic!! Made my second flan and it came out terrific both times. I followed the recipe exactly both times and am very happy with the outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sandy
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
This is the first review I have ever posted. I was really nervous about making a flan but this recipe is so delicious and my book club raved about it. The important thing that this recipe does not tell you is how to caramelize the sugar. On my first attempt I think I stirred the sugar too much. I went on line and got instructions on how properly do the sugar. For one cup of sugar add 1/4 cup of water. Bring this to a boil. Will take approx 8 minutes and then it will start to darken. Don't stir just swirl. When it was a nice amber I easily poured it into my glass dish and swirled it around. Cooked it in water bath , chilled it and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
This recipe is so easy and insanely delicious! My husband is Cuban and told me I could sell this in a Cuban restaurant! I've made it twice, and this time I decided to make a lighter version (I used 1 cup cream and 1 cup half & half, and replaced the cup of whole milk with skim). It turned out just as good as the full fat version...you can't tell the difference!!! I baked it for exactly 50 minutes, and even though it was still quite "jiggly" in the middle I turned the oven off. I let it sit in the oven with the door cracked open for 30 minutes. After the 30 minutes, I took it out of the water bath, put it on a plate, and placed it in the fridge for 4 hours...it was cooked perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
I have been searching for this recipe for months! I just made perfect flan in a practice round and feel 100% confident it will meet my expectations for an upcoming dinner party. Thank you for sharing Beth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
This is a delicious , mouth melting recipe! not too creamy, just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Baked Alaska

The perfect dessert—cake, ice cream, and baked meringue in one amazing treat!

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States