Baked Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
*** Important: This recipe forgets to tell you to use a dull table knife to loosen the flan around the edges and then invert it onto a plate when it's slightly cooled. That's how you get it to look like the photo. I make this all the time. My children beg for it. It's a little hard to determine when it's set, and it really depends on how big your dish is, but it is fabulous once you figure it out. I usually make two or one and a bunch of small ramekins. We recently ate at a Cuban restaurant in south FL, and my BF didn't like the flan there because it wasn't as good as "mine." This recipe is "my" flan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Best flan I've ever made! I've made it a few time already and the first time I made it, the top browned too much so I started covering it up with foil. I take the foil off when there's about 25 min left to bake so it can give it some color. My hubby and mom love this flan. My mom even told me to throw out the other flan recipes lol :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
excellent. very easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pink.in.a.Blue.World
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I ran out of cream and so I used 1,5 cup evaporated milk and 1,5 cups whole milk instead, for the 3 cups of dairy. It worked perfectly! I have learnt that for a silky smooth creme, it is better not to beat the custard mixture on too high for long. Rather use a low speed on the hand mixer until well mixed. Over mixing causes bubbles and that makes the creme spongy once baked. This recipe was a spectacular success!!! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pink.in.a.Blue.World

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
So yummy! It is a fairly simple recipe, although it took me two tries to get the sugar right... It also took over an hour in my oven for it to set. So, if anyone freaks out that it isn't set in 50 min, just keep it in for as long as necessary! I checked it every so often with a toothpick, and when it came out clean, voila! Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
There was far too much left in the blender for my liking because I do not like to waste. I had to throw a quarter of it out even when I used the right size baking dish. It was delicious though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Easy to prepare following Beth's directions. Watching the video helped, too. Only difference for me and her instructions was the baking time. It took longer for the custard to set than 60 minutes at 350. For me, it was closer to two hours. But the finished result was yummy. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
great & easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
This was great tasting flan. However, I had to adjust the bake time. I had to bake it for about 1 hour 20 minutes. It still didn't appear to be set so I allowed it to cool and put it in the refrigerator over night. The following morning it was set and great tasting. I'm going to try it again and try baking it in two 9 inch glass pie plates in an attempt to fix the baking problem. Also, many other reviews were right, it's too much liquid for the blender. It spilled over. I'll try using the mixer in a bowl next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I am not a cook and rarely make a recipe. I followed the directions and everything was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Baked Alaska

The perfect dessert—cake, ice cream, and baked meringue in one amazing treat!

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States