Baked Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
This flan recipe is really good - it's restaurant quality!!!! It took me 1-1/2 hours to cook it. I will definately make this again, maybe even try adding some chocolate. Thanks Beth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
This was great! I made two of them, one for New Year's Eve, & and one for New Year's Day. They were big hits on both occasions. I liked it because the ingredients were simple & basic, & the directions were specific & clear. I found that the advice regarding melting the sugar was very helpful (I have burnt sugar before when I didn't pay close attention). Everything came off without a hitch, except that I tried it in a blender the first time, but it was too full & ended up messy when I tried to pour it. So, the second time, I just used a regular mixer & bowl & it was fine. I also put the finished flan into the refrigerator overnight, so that it would set a little more & be cold when served. Very yummy & classy! Thanks, Beth! (I'm making it again tonight for a baby shower tomorrow!) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
Wonderful taste and texture.....delicious either warm or cold. The mixture does completely fill my blender...I may reduce the ingredients a small bit next time....definately will serve again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2003
I followed the recipe exactly and after 50 minutes, the top was dark brown but the center wasn't even a bit set--completely liquid. I am an accomplished cook, and have no idea what what went wrong. If someone can tell me, I'd like to know!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
199 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mara Wieser Gust

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2004
To me, this tasted more like a Creme Brulee. But it was tasty. It was super thick and super creamy, which made it hard to eat a lot of at once. Also, I ended up burning the sugar before I put it in the pan. I think it should have been a little less "dark brown." I don't know that I'll make this again, because it was so thick and rich, and I'm really the only person in my house who likes flan. I think I'll stick with Jello Flan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2004
The best flan I've tasted. Took me a few times to get the caramel right but it's fantastic and well worth the persistence to get it right. I took another reviewer's advice and used a big bowl and a mixer instead of a blender. I also fill one large pie dish and a smaller little casserole dish (like a single serving size) and it uses up the little leftover mix that I have. My mom usually takes that little dish home with her. She is a veteran cook and she licked her plate clean the first time she ate this. Also, I cook the small dish for the same time with no problems. I like to eat it cold so after I let it cool (it will be runny when you take it out of the oven but will set nicely after it cools), I put it in the fridge. It makes it easy to cook the day before a dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2004
my husband is cuban and he loves this i also put instant coffee or cocoa to make different flavors
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
BETH -- thank you!!! I have been searching for a good flan recipe for about a year now. This is the simplicity I was longing to achieve. This recipe, I have ranked highest above all. It was easy to make and now it is a definite family favorite. This is a true Mexican dessert. (Anyone reading this..look no further - this is it.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
Is it normal for the top to be very brown while baking? It didn't affect the taste, but wasn't very attractive. Very thick and creamy...quite good. I baked it a little longer than suggested, but it still wasn't quite long enough. Even after refrigerating, the very center portion was a little runny. Might have to make a few changes for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~MOMMY~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
this was good however it was very heavy and extremely rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSEVOBREEZE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Baked Alaska

The perfect dessert—cake, ice cream, and baked meringue in one amazing treat!

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States