Baked Fish with Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
I left off the shrimp because all I wanted was a fish recipe to use up some red snapper I had in the freezer. I followed the suggestions of some other reviewers and added some pressed garlic and rehydrated dried onion flakes to the butter before adding the flour. I also added a splash of sherry to the finished white sauce. I only had one pound of fish (there are only 2 of us) and since it is over 100 here in Las Vegas, I baked the fish in the toaster oven so as not to heat up the kitchen too much. I sprinkled some paprika on the sauce-covered fish before adding the cheese, and placed a couple of thin lemon slices on each fillet along with a sprig of thyme before baking. This come out delicious and my husband really liked it! Exactly what I was looking for. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
This was a good recipe, however, it was a little bland. I added Old Bay seasoning to give it a little zing and that made all the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
This is a wonderful and very easy dish! I have a bad habit of trying new things on large groups of people. It's risky but I get a lot of instant feedback and this got a big thumbs up! I actually used tilopia (my husband's favorite) instead of some of the meater fish and it was still delicious. I adjusted the cook time so that it wouldn't over cook. I also recommend cooking your own shrimp for a great flavor. Although you can buy it frozen for a quick alternative, the flavor of freshly cooked shimp is worth the extra step. The most time consuming part is peeling them. I've already sent out the recipe to everyone at the dinner party per their requests! We'll be doing this one again and I can't wait to try it with other fish! Great find! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SALLYJ461

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
This dish is fabulous. I made the sauce with half/half. Added sweated onion, garlic, Tony Chachere to taste to my sauce. Salt and pepper to the fish. Remember the parmesean is salty when seasoning this dish. Thank to the others for the helpful hints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bhamgirl374

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
I have now done this recipe twice with crab. I find I need twice as much sauce. 4 tblsp of butter, 3 -4 tblsp of flour and 2 cups of milk. I've added seasonings to the sauce and it works better than seasonings to the fish. You can't put too much parmesan on top. The whole thing is like an old fashioned sole mornay - truly yummy. Thanks so much to Mary Lynn Tumlin for the share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
DELICIOUS. Took other users advice and seasoned with old bay. I also used fat free half and half instead of milk. Fish couldve used a squeeze of fresh lemon. Either way this was Goot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
I fixed this for my husband, I also tweeked it with Cajun Power seasoning, liquid crab boil and garlic(in the white gravy) also seasoned the shrimp when I cooked them. also added morzerella, He wasn't crazy for the way it looked, but he did eat a second serving....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
Awesome. Made this with catfish nuggets and shrimp. The taste was great, my hubby loved it that he said I didn't make enough. Served with egg noddle pasta marinated in garlic and butter. And don't forget the garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
I made this for my girlfriend, she loved it. Simple and taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
This recipe is awsome if you add crabmeat, onions, garlic, salt, pepper and tony cachere to taste to the sauce....nothing bland about it. First try I used red snapper, but didnt like it....Next time I will put it over Tilapia....a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States