Baked Fish with Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
Really tasty. My family enjoyed this recipe with a salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummy2

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
I didn't like this recipe at all. The sauce was bland and the dish was way too fishy for me. I think it is because the shrimp cooks on top of the fish, so all the "fishy" flavor was soaked up in the basa fillets we used. My husband liked it, though, so it wasn't a total loss for us. I probably won't make again, but if I do, I'll keep the shrimp off my piece of fish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
hummm... I tried this recipe without the shrimp (as I saw that another user did too) but I didn't add anything additional and it turned out really salty. I even used less salt than the recipe called for. I gave it a 4 star rating because since I didn't follow the directions I didn't want to be too harsh but without the shrimp this reciped did not turn out good for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stow, Ohio, USA
Living In: West Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
Super recipe, and very easy. I added cheese and white wine to the sauce, and it was incredible!!!!! My husband loved it! I served it with risotto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
I left off the shrimp because all I wanted was a fish recipe to use up some red snapper I had in the freezer. I followed the suggestions of some other reviewers and added some pressed garlic and rehydrated dried onion flakes to the butter before adding the flour. I also added a splash of sherry to the finished white sauce. I only had one pound of fish (there are only 2 of us) and since it is over 100 here in Las Vegas, I baked the fish in the toaster oven so as not to heat up the kitchen too much. I sprinkled some paprika on the sauce-covered fish before adding the cheese, and placed a couple of thin lemon slices on each fillet along with a sprig of thyme before baking. This come out delicious and my husband really liked it! Exactly what I was looking for. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
This was a good recipe, however, it was a little bland. I added Old Bay seasoning to give it a little zing and that made all the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
This is a wonderful and very easy dish! I have a bad habit of trying new things on large groups of people. It's risky but I get a lot of instant feedback and this got a big thumbs up! I actually used tilopia (my husband's favorite) instead of some of the meater fish and it was still delicious. I adjusted the cook time so that it wouldn't over cook. I also recommend cooking your own shrimp for a great flavor. Although you can buy it frozen for a quick alternative, the flavor of freshly cooked shimp is worth the extra step. The most time consuming part is peeling them. I've already sent out the recipe to everyone at the dinner party per their requests! We'll be doing this one again and I can't wait to try it with other fish! Great find! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SALLYJ461

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
This dish is fabulous. I made the sauce with half/half. Added sweated onion, garlic, Tony Chachere to taste to my sauce. Salt and pepper to the fish. Remember the parmesean is salty when seasoning this dish. Thank to the others for the helpful hints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bhamgirl374

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
I have now done this recipe twice with crab. I find I need twice as much sauce. 4 tblsp of butter, 3 -4 tblsp of flour and 2 cups of milk. I've added seasonings to the sauce and it works better than seasonings to the fish. You can't put too much parmesan on top. The whole thing is like an old fashioned sole mornay - truly yummy. Thanks so much to Mary Lynn Tumlin for the share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
DELICIOUS. Took other users advice and seasoned with old bay. I also used fat free half and half instead of milk. Fish couldve used a squeeze of fresh lemon. Either way this was Goot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States