Baked Fish with Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2003
I liked this, but next time I have to use another type of fish. I didn't prefer what I used. However, I did enjoy the combo of shrimpwhite sauce on top, with a few alterations. I sauted some onions and added sherry to the sauce. I also crushed some Ritz crackers on top before baking. Doing that gave it an interesting texture. With another fish I probably would have rated this higher.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2003
So here is my take on this recipe, this recipe as is I find it to be a little bland. I also use a more milder fish because I don't care for snapper. I add to the sauce. Usually fresh garlic, basil, and pepper. Gives it more flavor along with the parmesan. After adding the ingredients the rating goes much higher. Hope you find this helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2003
I loved this recipe. I used Halibut steaks and added shredded crab meat on top with the shrimp. Otherwise I followed the recipe to the letter. I don't normally care for fish, but this had so many other flavors, it was enjoyable to eat. My husband said he liked it somewhat, but in reality didn't care much for the "white sauce" and would have preferred it without. Two different opinions at the same dinner table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVEYM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
This was awesome! My friends and I have a dinner party every week to try out new recipes and this was a real hit. I used grouper and added crab meat to the shrimp topping and sherry to the sauce like the other reviewers recommended. I topped it with chopped yellow and red peppers for color and served with wild rice and mixed green salad. Next time I would probably use only 3 tbs of sherry, four was a bit much. A definite staple in my house! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2003
This recipe was very tasty, however I do have some improvements. We used salmon which turned out excellent, and heavy cream instead of milk. The sauce was very rich and the sheer volume of it overwhelmed the shrimp and fish. Also, the 4T of sherry recommended made it way too strong. Next time I'll reduce the sauce ingredients by 1/3 and add only one or two tablespoons of sherry. You could also substitute Old Bay seasoning for the sherry for a different, spicier flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
GREAT Recipe! We really enjoyed it. However next time I will add some sherry like others suggested to add some flavor. But it was still good. And it was actually a pretty dish..lol. I was worried about pre-cooking the shrimp and then putting them in oven, however they were GREAT! Thanks for a recipe that I will use again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watson, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Belle Chasse, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
If you mess this dish up you CAN'T COOK!! Fantastic and easy. As a Seafood lover i'll add don't be shy on the butter....I would change the tempeture to 375 and add more garnish of parmasan cheese, salt, and parsley 10 minutes before removing from oven. LET COOL!!! I served it will baked potatoe and salad. The family LOVED it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2003
This was absolutely delicious, easy to make & better than any fish I have had in restaurants. First of all I couldn't get snapper so I used Kingclip fillets which I had never had before, very fishy smelling but not fishy in taste. Fillets were pretty thick so had to add a little more cooking time. I did as some others suggested and added a few seasonings. I added a little sliced onion, garlic salt, salt &cracked pepper, bay seasoning & 4 Tbls. sherry. I used a half pound of med. cooked shrimp & removed the shell on the tails before I put on fish. Really thought they would be tough as they were already cooked with the cooking in the oven besides but they were just find, not at all tough or dry. This dish is definately a keeper, also can easily be prepared a little ahead of time if having company, get your other sides in order & ready to cook, sit back & enjoy your company with a little drink & just pop it in the oven when ready to cook. I am not a big fish lover but this was excellent & certainly deserves a 5 Star in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Holliday

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waverly, New York, USA
Living In: Westerly, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
I found this recipe very bland, even though I added Old Bay, Worcestershire sauce, white wine, lemon pepper, and cheddar cheese to the sauce. I just couldn't get enough flavor going to really enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
This was really good for a special meal. Very easy to make too. I made the white sauce in the microwave, just zap for a minute, stir, zap for 30 sec., stir... until thickened. It's really faster and less likely to burn if you're careful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Pederson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States