Baked Fennel with Parmesan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
I didn't have enough fennel so I added a leek and some chopped fresh herbs: tarragon, parsley, and chives. I also used a mixture of vegan sour cream and cream cheese, with vegan parmesan and some herb bread crumbs on top. It was excellent, I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelclaw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
This was so easy and delicious! I added some chopped fresh garlic to the fennel while it was being sauteed. I also found it easier to core the fennel buy cutting the bulb in half first. Great side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YODAMAHODA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
Excellent dish! Even my boyfriend, who doesn't like fennel, liked this. I added salt and pepper and sauted the fennel longer (maybe 10 min) than stated in the recipe. Also, the first time I made it, it curdled a bit, so the second time I omitted the half-and-half and doubled the creme fraiche (creme fraiche doesn't curdle very easily). That was perfect. This is economical enough because I make my own creme fraiche (recipe is on this site--it is easy but must be done a couple of days ahead).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I serve this to guests (most of whom never had tried fennel in their lives) and it was well received. I followed the recipe exactly except I added a considerable amount of coarse kosher salt. I can't imagine how this would have tasted without it! Salt is a critical addition to this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Love fennel, both raw and cooked, and like it baked with Parmesan too. I won't be making this particular fennel recipe again, however, as it just was nothing special at all except for it being fennel in a lot of cream. Boring dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Not bad, not the greatest. We ate our portions but didn't finish off the dish. One tip I can offer is that it took a little longer that five minutes to saute the fennel until they weren't crunchy. Baking them helped but had to bake longer to ensure what we were after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OHCRIPE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA
Living In: North Bend, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Delicious. I had to use sour cream and heavy whipping cream, they were all I had. Tasted like it was much harder to make than it was. I think I may try a smidge of nutmeg next time. I will make again and again. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Twentynine Palms, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
I love this recipe! I served this for a mixed crowd including kids and some picky adults and everybody raved about it. Will make again for sure. It had a fettucini alfredo taste without the carbs from the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nutley, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
I made this because I love raw fennel and was curious how cooked fennel would taste. I was pleasantly surprised at the flavoe-was kind of sweet and had great flavor! Simple recipe plus minimal ingredients equals success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by italprincess75

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
This is a great fennel dish but as usual I put my own touches to it. Only one fennel bulb so I sliced a few small red potatoes into it and added a small sliced onion. Used sour cream instead of creme fraiche and salt and fresh groung black pepper . DELISH!! Everyone raved and had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States