Baked Fennel with Parmesan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
Excellent dish! Even my boyfriend, who doesn't like fennel, liked this. I added salt and pepper and sauted the fennel longer (maybe 10 min) than stated in the recipe. Also, the first time I made it, it curdled a bit, so the second time I omitted the half-and-half and doubled the creme fraiche (creme fraiche doesn't curdle very easily). That was perfect. This is economical enough because I make my own creme fraiche (recipe is on this site--it is easy but must be done a couple of days ahead).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I serve this to guests (most of whom never had tried fennel in their lives) and it was well received. I followed the recipe exactly except I added a considerable amount of coarse kosher salt. I can't imagine how this would have tasted without it! Salt is a critical addition to this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Love fennel, both raw and cooked, and like it baked with Parmesan too. I won't be making this particular fennel recipe again, however, as it just was nothing special at all except for it being fennel in a lot of cream. Boring dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Not bad, not the greatest. We ate our portions but didn't finish off the dish. One tip I can offer is that it took a little longer that five minutes to saute the fennel until they weren't crunchy. Baking them helped but had to bake longer to ensure what we were after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OHCRIPE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA
Living In: North Bend, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Delicious. I had to use sour cream and heavy whipping cream, they were all I had. Tasted like it was much harder to make than it was. I think I may try a smidge of nutmeg next time. I will make again and again. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Twentynine Palms, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
I love this recipe! I served this for a mixed crowd including kids and some picky adults and everybody raved about it. Will make again for sure. It had a fettucini alfredo taste without the carbs from the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nutley, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
I made this because I love raw fennel and was curious how cooked fennel would taste. I was pleasantly surprised at the flavoe-was kind of sweet and had great flavor! Simple recipe plus minimal ingredients equals success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by italprincess75

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
This is a great fennel dish but as usual I put my own touches to it. Only one fennel bulb so I sliced a few small red potatoes into it and added a small sliced onion. Used sour cream instead of creme fraiche and salt and fresh groung black pepper . DELISH!! Everyone raved and had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
I was afraid to try this recipe, since I've never had fennel, and always assumed I wouldn't care for it, since I *hate* the flavor of licorice. But after reading the reviews, I decided to give it a shot. Even as I was preparing it, I was skeptical, smelling the strong licorice scent coming from the fennel bulbs as I chopped them. I shouldn't have doubted the allrecipes reviewers so much! The finished product was sweet and almost nutty, creamy and delicious, and didn't taste even the tiniest bit like licorice. A perfect side dish, and a whole new veggie to add to the repetoire! Thanks so much for changing my mind. Also, thanks for the prep instructions for fennel-novices like me - made it easy to work with like I'd done it a million times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
decent dish. you really need to cook this a long time for it to be tender. not nearly the best fennel dish i have used. very heavy. i served at a party and no one got seconds. my husband and i ate it for the rest of the week. i will not keep this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States