Baked Fennel with Parmesan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Rated 3, could be a 4 with adjustments in the notes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I searched online for substitutes for creme fraiche and found that plain yogurt is recommended. I substituted plain greek yogurt, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly, and it made the best fennel I've ever tasted. My husband and son liked it too. I had 2 at the table who don't like fennel, and they didn't like this version either, but that won't stop me from making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
What a fabulous recipe! Thank you so much. I swapped the creme fraiche for sour cream (only because that's what I had in the fridge). Because fennel is not a common vegie, everybody raved about it. Comments like: What is this? Fennel? LOL so funny. Thank you for a super easy, delicious side. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Easy to make, but not a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
definitely need to chop the fennel or cook it extra long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muh-Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Good recipe. We substituted Philadelphia Cooking Cream Italian Cheese & Herb for the creme fraiche. Came out a little dry, although we cut the recipe in half. I'd try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I recently moved to Italy where Fennel is in abundance. Wanting to try it this sounded good. It was excellent. I only made some minor changes. I sauteed the fennel in olive oil instead of butter. Added salt and pepper and instead of cream fraiche and half & half I used a new product (Philadelphia cooking cream) the entire container. I also added panko bread crumbs on the top with the parmesan cheese. I baked it all in my skillet since it can go from stove to oven. Why dirty another dish?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dragonlady

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Here's a less fatty alternative: I used a 2" slice of block cream cheese melted into 1/2 cup of fat-free sour cream, and topped it with Parmesan. That is much less sauce than this recipe says, but OOH yummy! I will be making this again and again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phoebes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Great!! Easy cheesy goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I was a little disappointed with this. It was bland, a little dry, and visually unappealing. I increased the creme fraiche/ heavy cream slightly and added spinach for what I hoped would be additional flavor. The creme fraiche/ cream slightly curdled and got dry with open baking in the oven, and I can't imagine that this was the original intent. I feel like this was somewhat of a waste of good produce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INTELLIBLONDE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredonia, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States