Baked Falafel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Oops! Didn't have enough eggs! So I substituted with some Greek yogurt. Used bread crumbs instead of flour, and pureed everything till it was smooth. I ended up using a lot of bread crumbs so the dough wouldn't be too sticky to handle. The falafel came out well. Good to know, as we're to eat more legumes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I followed some of the tips others had mentioned. I didn't fry them in oil but baked them at 400 degrees for 20 mins on one side, flipped over and baked another 10 on the other side, spraying with cooking spray. I didn't have fresh parsley so I substituted dry. I did saute the onions and garlic first before adding and pulsing in food processor with the rest. I also added the 1/4 cup dry bread crumbs. They held together very well and I didn't find them to be runny like others mentioned. Servng them in pita bread is a great tip. And there is a pita dough recipe ("Peppy's") on this website that I found very easy to follow using a breadmaking machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I followed the recipe but had to make a few changes because I didn't have all the ingredients. I used a little over a tablespoon of all purpose flour because I didn't have baking soda. I gambled on the fact that the all purpose flour had it in there already and hoped it would be enough. I didn't have coriander so I added a little turmeric instead. I also didn't have fresh parsley so I used dried. I followed other reviewer's suggestions and just baked them at 400 degrees turning them over after 30 minutes. They were perfect! Totally satisfied my falafel craving with very little fat. It made 6 nice sized patties, and I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
This was really good. I served it with a homemade taziki sauce I found on all recipes on a bed of lettuce. Very good. And I just subbed gluten free all purpose flour for regular flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Made it following recipe exactly. It was delicious! My daughter even asked me to make more for her lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I made this to bring to a BBQ and was so pleased that my vegetarian dish was a hit! Lots of compliments! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I absolutely loved the flavor. I sometimes find the spices overpowering but this recipe has just the right amount of everything! Thank you for a wonderfully easy recipe.....this is going in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Made this tonight for the my Husband, myself and my 3 year daughter and we loved it! I didn't use a cheese cloth because I didn't have one. I just chopped the onion small and dabbed off any moisture with a paper towel. Lightly browned the falafel in a pan and then stuck them in the oven for 10 minutes. Served them in warm pita bread with my homemade tzatziki sauce and side tabouli salad over some arugula! Healthy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Jett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orland Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Barrington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I loved this recipe. It was so easy and quick to make. I did not use a food processor because mine was dirty from another dish I made. I just used the back of a fork to mash the chickpeas and cut up the parsley. I love that I had very few dishes to clean at the end. I served this with a tahini sauce and tzatziki. The tahini adds some liquid if you find falafel a bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Sadly, very underwhelming. Very bland even though I doubled the spices. I'll try to find a more flavorful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sean's Falafel and Cucumber Sauce

Simple and quick recipe to prepare that delivers lots of Mediterranean flavors.

Easiest Falafel

Make quick-and-easy falafel with common ingredients from your pantry.

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States