Baked Falafel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by crunchy
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
This was really good. i forgot pita bread, but it would have been better on bread, it does need a little sauce, it is a bit dry, but it's really tasty- and pretty easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
The first time I made falafels was with this recipe. I love to cook food, full of meat, full of veggies or just plain vegan. This one isn't entirely vegan, but definitely vegetarian. It was a hit with people who didn't even like vegetarian food; people who couldn't even fathom eating a meatless meal. It's so full of flavor and texture that you don't even miss the meat. Be sure to have some excellent pita on hand, very fresh veggies (like chopped or sliced red tomato, fresh lettuce or spinach, and chopped red or strong white onion). You need a good tzatziki sauce to go with this, though. I know this site has an excellent recipe for that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Philip

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Plains, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I followed this recipe to a tee, minus the coriander since I didn't have any on hand. I wish I could give it 3.5 stars because I don't think it's quite deserving of 4. I was surprised that the mixture was so wet after adding the egg and flour. I pan-fried them for a little more than 3 minutes, but they were still quite difficult to work with. Thankfully, they didn't completely fall apart. I'd probably make these again, but I wasn't too crazy about them. While I'm a huge garlic-lover, I think the 3 cloves was a bit overpowering. I'd reduce it to 2 next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
I make this at least once a month, I love this recipe!!! The flavor is so good and a bit healthier than a deep fried falafel. I pulse the parsley garlic cumin coriander and salt first until it's really fine. Then I add the garbanzo beans and baking soda and pulse no more than 10 times so the beans kindof stay whole. I usually fry them as bigger patties to make burgers with them because they fall apart a little. Overall they are really good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Delicious!!! I followed the recipe, but I left out the coriander because I had none. I really liked this recipe! It was my first time trying falafel and I decided to wrap it in a pita and made a gyro sandwich with cucumber, red onion, tomato, and tzatziki sauce. So good, I will definitely use this recipe again! The falafel was good by itself and good in the gyro - great meatless meal and very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LashGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
As this is my first time making falafel, I was not really sure what to expect. Suprisingly, this turned out really well. The only thing I was not crazy about was the falafel was a little mushy in the center, I guess I am more use to a drier (fried) type. Even with a little mushiness, the flavor was fantastic. I served this with flatbread, lettuce, red onion, tomato, and a tzatziki sauce recipe from this site and was very pleased with the results. I would absolutely recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Very good! Found it was easy to make and I did heat it in the pan in olive oil before I baked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Really tasty! Had it in a pita with some plain yogurt, cucumber, tomatoes and lettuce. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Demara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Living In: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Great low-cal version. The falafel was a little dry. Next time would try, transferring to a pan coated with cooking spray to bake. Also, would add a bit of hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Easiest Falafel

Make quick-and-easy falafel with common ingredients from your pantry.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese

Discover a super-simple way to make mac and cheese from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States