Baked Falafel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
This falafel came out great! I don't own a food processor so I finely chopped the onion and garlic. I added a little bit of salt too for more flavor. I then combined everything in a bowl mashing it with my hands and rolled them like meat balls on a pam sprayed cooking sheet. Baked them at 400 degrees for 20 minutes. Make a yogurt dipping sauce or put them in a pita pocket with hummus, tomato, alfalfa,lettuce,sunflower seeds and cheddar cheese. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasharenae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
I liked the flavor of it, but I found the patties to be too crumbly...maybe I didn't chop the onions fine enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I had an awful falafel at a high end restaurant last weekend and thought to myself "allrecipes.com can do better than this" and sure enough, this recipe pulled it off. I found like other reviewers that they did fall apart but that was remedied by making a more fine chop in the processor instead of a coarse chop. I followed the directions to a T but doubled it and stuffed it inside pita pockets with red onion, spinach, cucumbers, tomatoes and tzatziki for a vegetarian gyro. I also misted the patties with olive oil before baking so they didn't dry out at all. My recipe for tzatziki: seed and grate 1/2 q cucumber and blot with paper towel, dust with coarse salt and let sit for 10 min. Combine 1tbsp minced garlic, 1 1/2 c greek yogurt, 1 tsp fresh mint, 1/2tsp dill, 1-2tbsp olive oil and half a squeezed lemon. Add cucumber and refrigerate for several hours for flavors to full merry. I think this was by far the best falafel I've ever had. Thanks so much for the recipe! Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Great! I skipped the pan frying option and just put them straight in the oven. They were a little soft, but soooo good. I used red onions and dried parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Although my husband and I love falafel, we weren't thrilled with this dish. He (the eater) was put off by the texture, calling the insides 'mushier' than typical. As the cook, I thought the prep took considerably longer than 20 minutes. The wet mixture was difficult to work with. Patties didn't retain their shapes and clung to my hands as I tried to transfer from plate to pan for cooking. Also, it would have been helpful to know in advance that spices could all be measured into same bowl, to avoid using (and having to wash) multiple vessels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I followed the recipe, except I baked for 30 minutes at 400; no frying. I should have fried them first, because they turned out a little dry in the oven... Today, when I warmed up the leftovers, I lightly fried them in olive oil, and they were absolutely delicious! Sitting overnight probably helped the flavors merge better as well, although I may add more garlic and spices next time. Served the falafel with the Tzatziki II recipe and lettuce and tomatoes on a warm pita. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Brazier

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Really good and a nice alternative to meat. The falafels come out nice and crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Relatively simple to make and was a big hit with my !no beans! husband. He watched me smash them up and he still loved it =]. Like the top says - wuld go great with tzatziki and pita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I thought it wasn't that crucial to drain the onions... I was wrong! They did not get crispy enough for my taste. Next time I will either drain the onion or use onion powder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fondukes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
I did not care for this recipe. This was so flavorless, and we kept adding toppings to try to improve it, but nothing worked. Such a waste of a lot of good ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easiest Falafel

Make quick-and-easy falafel with common ingredients from your pantry.

Sean's Falafel and Cucumber Sauce

Simple and quick recipe to prepare that delivers lots of Mediterranean flavors.

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States