Baked Falafel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
These were super yummy! As I have no recipe to compare these with, I rated a 4 :) I have never even eaten Falafel prior to making these!! I decided as others did, not to fry them first, though I did spray them with some Pam. I also made them into 8 mini patties instead of 4 large ones! They came out great...now I just need to try another batch - either restaurant style or make some more :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
these were yummy but VERY dry, even w tsp of lemon juice added... cured by serving w roasted veggies and Tzatziki Sauce from this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
I liked it as a healthy lite sandwich that keeps U full . but it taste almost nothing like the real Falafel . I doubled the coriander to make it 1/2 tsp , and for more flavor I add 1/4 cup fresh Cilantro and one TBS of fresh dill . I use the following toppings for my sandwich: crumbled feta cheese , tomato , lettuce, onion, cucumber and Kalamata olives .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monjfr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Very good! Time consuming though. Of course, I did increase the serving size to 6! I had no idea it would make way way WAY more than 6 servings. I will freeze some of them to have for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muffinpatch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lauren
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
After making this many times I've settled on the following changes, which I highly recommend: 1) Pulse half an onion and several cloves of garlic in a food processor, then sauté until the onions are tender and most of the moisture has cooked off. 2) Double the cumin and coriander, and add onion and garlic powder. 3) Add 1/4 cup breadcrumbs, preferably panko. 4) Form 8 smaller patties rather than 4 big ones. This has proven to be essential! 5) Spray Pam, also essential, on a baking sheet and bake the falafel at 400 for 20 minutes. Then spray Pam on the patties, flip them, and bake for another 10-15 minutes. This actually results in a crunchier crust than when pan frying this recipe. The first picture I uploaded of this recipe is the pan-fried version and the second is completely baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
These were a little bland for me---I added garam masala and ground red pepper---but otherwise great! I used a 19oz can of chickpeas and subbed wheat germ for the flour, and didn't have a problem with the batter being too thin. Even my husband, an avid carnivore, raved about these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Delicious! I used dried, powdered onion to avoid the juice draining process from fresh onions and reduce the amount to compensate. Overall, I'd make this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
A bit scary when the patties were so soft and not molding before frying. I just dropped them in the pan like pan cake batter almost and then they became beautiful. Easy, delicious, and meat free
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
This falafel came out great! I don't own a food processor so I finely chopped the onion and garlic. I added a little bit of salt too for more flavor. I then combined everything in a bowl mashing it with my hands and rolled them like meat balls on a pam sprayed cooking sheet. Baked them at 400 degrees for 20 minutes. Make a yogurt dipping sauce or put them in a pita pocket with hummus, tomato, alfalfa,lettuce,sunflower seeds and cheddar cheese. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasharenae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
I liked the flavor of it, but I found the patties to be too crumbly...maybe I didn't chop the onions fine enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sean's Falafel and Cucumber Sauce

Simple and quick recipe to prepare that delivers lots of Mediterranean flavors.

Easiest Falafel

Make quick-and-easy falafel with common ingredients from your pantry.

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States