Baked Falafel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Fabulous! Substituted flour for bread crumbs just because I like the texture. Made 16 ping pong ball sized patties instead of the four large...way too big. Served on pita with tabouli. Perfect!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
The recipe was okay. The patties didn't fall apart on me but they were dry and bland. I'm not crazy about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
Eh. The batter was so runny I added extra flour. Baked them for the entirety of cooking. Better after they'd sat for maybe 20 minutes, but overall just eh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Courtney R
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
AMAZING! but instead of parsley i added cilantro and green onion. i had never made felafel before but it turned out fantastic. didnt use the skillet either, just baked them on 400 for 20 min. thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney R

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North York, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I was surprised this turned out as well as it did, considering the changes I made and my inability to read directions. I substituted light red kidney beans (blasphemy, I know, but it was that or black beans) and a tablespoon or so of dried parsley for the fresh (working with what I had on hand here). I also just mashed everything together with a potato masher since I don't have a food processor. And by everything, I mean I included the oil, since I didn't pay attention to the directions. Speaking of which, I let the mixture sit for 15 minutes prior to shaping it instead of after. I decided to skip the baking part, since it was too hot out, and just scooped heaping spoonfuls onto the skillet (ungreased) and cooked them like pancakes, a few minutes apiece. Tasty! But they were best when piping hot, and seemed to lose flavor as they cooled. This made about 8 silver-dollar falafelcakes (really 6, plus about 2 more worth of scraps and broken bits).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAMJJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
Really easy and good. They held together very nicely. I'll make a few changes to suit our tastes next time (more salt, cilantro instead of parsley, some hot pepper sauce), but this recipe is going into our rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: George West, Texas, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I agree with another tester here...I doubled the spices as well, and I suggest you do if you've had this kind of ethnic food and are used to the stronger spice flavours, which makes this recipe wonderful. I used whole grain flour..it made me feel better!! I made smaller patties, fried them up in a frying pan as instructed and finished them in the oven for the required 10 minutes...this helps alot with expelling more moisture. I paired this with Chef John's Tzatziki sauce and soft warmed up pita bread....OMG, it's a staple now at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyKathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chelmsford, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 3, 2013
Be careul not to over-process the chickpeas! The flavours are good and adding a bit of tzatziki... divine! Also, don't over-fry or they will end up dry. Other than that, so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Loved that I had everything in my pantry already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
a tad dry but good. thought seasonings as written were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sean's Falafel and Cucumber Sauce

Simple and quick recipe to prepare that delivers lots of Mediterranean flavors.

Easiest Falafel

Make quick-and-easy falafel with common ingredients from your pantry.

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States