Baked Falafel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Didn't taste like felafel to me, even tahini couldn't save it. Would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
This was a great recipe! I loved it, as did my wife and my 2.5 yr old as well! The 10 yr old was on the fence but she did try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
This was pretty good. I doubled the recipe, but with 2 eggs, it was just too liquidy, so I added some bread crumbs. I also did not fry it, but just baked it for 20 minutes or so. I made it into 8 smaller patties and froze some raw for work week lunches. I will probably make this again. The frozen patties cooked up nicely in the toaster oven at work and were tasty torn up into a tossed salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justme

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
This one is easy and had very good texture and flavor. I simplified the steps a bit by processing the onion, parsley and garlic cloves together with just a few pulses first, then adding the beans, soda and seasoning, and finally, hand mixing in the flour and egg. Patties held together well for me and were easy to form. I also like that this one scales easily, so I doubled the recipe and froze the extra patties individually which will be a great time saver for another meal. Since they were already in the frying pan according to the directions, I saved on cleanup by keeping them there for about 5 minutes a side, rather than transfer to the oven. I would either bake or fry these, but I wouldn't bother doing both. This is a great recipe and the one I will use for falafel from now on. Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Really good! It was our first time eating falafel, and we really enjoyed it. My dad watched me mixing up the chickpea mush and was not impressed at all with what I was serving (he's pretty skeptical of any meatless dish), but he ate it all up and said it was awesome! You know it's good if you get him to say so :) I didn't bother with the cheesecloth, just patted the onion with some paper towel to take out some moisture. I also just cooked completely on the stovetop as it's ridiculously hot here today and I didn't want to heat up both the stove and the oven. But when I make again, I'd love to try the oven to make it a bit healthier (but I guess a couple tbsp of olive oil never killed anyone!) They came out great, nice and crispy, from frying. We ate them inside warmed up pitas, with tzatziki sauce, and tabouli on the side. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I love these sooo much. I used sprouted garbanzo beans (chickpeas) that I had on hand instead of canned. Did not cook them. I am vegan so I used flax meal ( grounded flax seed) one spoon flax seed mixed with 3 spoons of water. I backed them and they were great. Will definatley do again...I might even try to dehydrate it for a raw version ..without the flour...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
This was my first time trying falafel and I loved it. The only change I made was using ww flour instead and ap. I served them the way the author recommended: in a a pita with tzatziki sauce. It was a great, healthy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
These turned out really good. I used different spices but used the same onion/flour/baking soda and they had a great texture. I ate these as burgers with avocado, lettuce and tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
These were great! What an easy, healthful, and inexpensive dinner. I sauteed in olive oil spray in a non-stick pan. Baked on parchment paper. My picky eater husband really liked them - I served them with hummus, grape leaves, feta, pita, and sliced tomatoes. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
This was fantastic - so easy to make, and my husband and I agreed that it had amazing real falafel flavor! I'll add a bit more salt next time I make it. I also used chickpea flour rather than all-purpose flour. I served these with pita bread and homemade tzatziki, along with a cabbage and parsley salad. Delish! I highly recommend this for your first time making falafel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sean's Falafel and Cucumber Sauce

Simple and quick recipe to prepare that delivers lots of Mediterranean flavors.

Easiest Falafel

Make quick-and-easy falafel with common ingredients from your pantry.

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States