Baked Fake Steak with Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
I really like this recipe - make sure you crush the Saltine crackers up quite well! The gravy was really good, but needs mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
Nice Salisbury Steak substitute... I like to add extra mushrooms and serve over mashed potatoes. Downside - I tend to eat waaaaay too much of this recipe based on the goodness factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2003
We changed the servings to feed 70 people for an appreciation dinner and got lots of great comments on it! We served it with rice and the gravy went well with it! Many people asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
My family loved this!! I have a little guy who is very picky, and getting him to eat meat is like pulling teeth. He DEVOURED this, and asked for seconds. It's a nice simple meal, with a good taste, even if it's not steak :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs_Mike

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
Very good! I took a big shortcut though, made the meat mixture, shaped it into oval 'burgers', browned on both sides, topped it w/fresh mushrooms, then the gravy mixture. Then I covered it, brought it to a boil, turned it down to a simmer, and let it cook for 15 minutes. My teenaged boys and husband loved it! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Sheets

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2002
This recipe tastes great and easy to make. The whole family loved it. It was enough to fill up the family including 2 teenage boys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2003
Very Good ! A nice alternative to use ground beef. I used cream of chicken soup and it was great. As mentioned above, you can shape in to patties and make in one skillet on the top of the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2004
This is a great recipe! These patties are so tender and flavorful, I was really surprised at the light texture. My kids and my husband loved them over egg noodles! It will be a regular in my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
It was excellant. My 2 year old son ate 4 helpings before getting full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
very good indeed. One of the spices i used though was lawry salt. we love that spice. and i forgot to buy the br. gravy so i just used a big square of beef consomme and a few shakes of maggi seasoning for gravies. and it turned out excellent. the 3lbs of hamb. was a little too much, only had room in my pan for 6 patties. i also didnt get to keep it in the refridgerator like i was sapposed to. but it didnt hurt it. So instead of messing with the jelly role pan i just made large patties. but it turned out well. I ran a search on the "serve with ideas" and found a hash br. recipie that i also made with it. it went well with it except u couldnt put it on the same plate because of the juices or gravy. i will review it also, i believe its called "potatoe caserole II" bye Bea. my whole family enjoyed this recipie. will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States