Baked Fake Steak with Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
Very good! I took a big shortcut though, made the meat mixture, shaped it into oval 'burgers', browned on both sides, topped it w/fresh mushrooms, then the gravy mixture. Then I covered it, brought it to a boil, turned it down to a simmer, and let it cook for 15 minutes. My teenaged boys and husband loved it! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATHY S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
this recipe has amazing potential! i made it the first time exactly as the recipe listed and it turned out ok. the second time i changed a few things and it was amazing! first, you must pat off the grease before moving the meat to the baking dish. if you skip this step the gravey becomes a greasy yucky mess. second, add an egg, some parm cheese, and bread crumbs in place of the crackers. it makes everything stick together better and is more flavorable than just the saltines. this is definately worth a try... delicious! thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
I just love this baked fake steak with gravy but I do something a little different. I use the George Foreman Grill to cook the hamburger steak. Then I put the hamburger steak and gravy mix in a crockpot for 6-8 hours on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2002
This recipe tastes great and easy to make. The whole family loved it. It was enough to fill up the family including 2 teenage boys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
Nice Salisbury Steak substitute... I like to add extra mushrooms and serve over mashed potatoes. Downside - I tend to eat waaaaay too much of this recipe based on the goodness factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
I made a few changes to this recipe the next time I made it. I added 2 packages of onion soup mix, 1 regular size box of stovetop stuffing mix, worchestershire sauce. My family ate it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulare, California, USA
Living In: Pasco, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
MADE THIS UNDER AN HOUR--CHANGED MY MIND DIDNT WANT JUST HAMBURGERS FOR SUPPER--MIXED INGREDIENTS(SCALED BACK TO 4 SERVINGS) AND ADDED JUST ONION DICED W/SPICES OF YOUR CHOICE WITH THE SALTINE CRACKERS--BROWNED ON STOVETOP AND THEN PUT A MIX OF 1 CAN CREAM MUSHROOM SOUP AND 1 CAN(KROGER BRAND) MUSHROOM OR BROWN GRAVY OVER TOP OF MEAT THEN PUT IN 400 OVEN FOR ABOUT 40 MINUTES--QUICK AND COMFORTING I SERVED WITH MASHED POTATOES AND PEAS. WILL MAKE AGAIN .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Everyone loves this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I did as another person did I used the George Forman grill got all the fat out then put in the crock pot it smelled so good I had to give a try before dinner it is good will be making this again thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
This is a fantastic recipe! This is a keeper because everyone in the family enjoys it every time I make it, which is about once a week. I have been making it for several years now and I have perfected it for my family. I add a slightly beaten egg and parmesan cheese to the ground beef mixture, use ground up butter crackers to bind it all together, use beef broth in place of water, golden mushroom soup instead of beef and mushroom soup, and top it off with sauteed fresh mushrooms. Browning the steaks in butter over medium high heat (to get a nice brown without cooking it all the way through) then placing in baking dish, pouring the gravy over them and baking uncovered at 300 to 325 for about an hour makes the best, most flavorful, juicest beefy steaks, but I have also just put the raw patties in the baking dish and covered with gravy and baked uncovered at 350 for about an hour. Serve with mashed potatoes and green beans or corn on the cob. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shampooza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States