Baked Delicata Squash with Lime Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by wordsmythwmn
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Interesting tasting winter squash. Had never tried the "Delicata" before. The lime-chili-butter gave it a very fresh presentation, and pleasant finish in the mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wordsmythwmn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Wow! This is my new favorite squash recipe! good bye brown sugar...!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ritajennings
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I give this five stars because it is the best combination of ingredients I have tried for Delicata squash. This is NOT the kind of vegetable that tastes good mashed up with vanilla, cream and cinnamon like pumpkin or sweet potato - (believe me, I tried cooking many ways this morning)The lime and spice bring out the flavor the best. You can add a dash of cayenne if you like. Had to upload my picture after cooking - Thanks! P.S. The SEEDS are great too. I rinsed and dried them, then baked at 275 for about 30 min. Next, heat up a tsp or less of olive oil in a pan and add lime juice, salt, chili and cayenne pepper to taste. Mix in your seeds and cook for a minute or less. Spread on paper towel and allow to dry before storing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ritajennings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I am not a squash lover, but that's what we're getting from our CSA now so I was looking for some different things to do with it. This was delicious! Definitely make extra lime butter. One note, as a few others have mentioned, my squash took more like 45-50 minutes to bake and, even then, one of them could have used a little more time, so allow more than 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
Hard to beat the combination of simplicity and flavor in this recipe. I used 50% more squash, 100% more lime juice and got pretty good results. I also used Jamaican jerk-seasoning rather than chili powder. You can take this in a dozen directions and not screw it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seattle Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owosso, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
This was ok. The lime did really compliment the sweetness of the squash. I added extra salt to enhance the flavors, more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Prolly Pauli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
We liked the lime butter (I actually used lemon juice and lime zest) but 30 min wasn't long enough for the squash. It was a bit annoying trying to scoop the buttery squash out at the table, so next time we try this I will scoop and mash it ahead of time and mix the butter into that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
We loved this tangier twist on squash and that it was a real side dish, not a main dish for vegetarians or too hearty. Needed to use yet another delicata from our CSA bag and this disappeared in record time. I baked it for 15 minutes then realized I needed to use the broiler so I finished by microwaving it about 7 minutes more. I think I'd skip the baking and just zap it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Way better than I thought it would be--made just like it says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Really interesting flavors. Make sure you enough of the lime butter to the squash, otherwise it won't taste as yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Baked Asparagus with Balsamic Butter Sauce

See how to make a top-rated asparagus side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States