Baked Delicata Squash with Lime Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Amazing! I'm going to keep this recipe forever. I may cut down on the butter by a Tbsp next time.. but just personal preference... the taste was OUTSTANDING! You have to try this if you have a Delicata Squash sitting around. Oh, I used Lime juice from the bottle (santa cruz pure lime juice) and I didn't have an zest.. so I left it out. I don't think it's needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This was surprisingly yummy. Followed the recipe exactly. The flavor was a nice twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Disappointment. The mixture had no flavor. The lime and chili while originally interesting, was a waste of time and money. Squash was bland and fibrous. The butter had no flavor and got lost in the blandness. Will not do this recipe again. Deleting it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by atasteofcreole

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This was pretty good. Gave it 5 stars because of the lime chili butter sauce which was suprisingly delicious. I'm trying to find other things to use that sauce combo on. Two of the squash only took 30 min to cook but the 3rd one took 40. Would love to taste the baked seeds. I had already disposed of mine before I thought about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I liked this, but didn't love the flavors. My hubby did not care for it. He said the squash and lime flavors don't go together at all. Won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I was pretty disappointed with this based on the stellar reviews it was getting. I veganized this by substituting margarine for butter which might have thrown things off a bit. I had to really mash it up with the squash to get it to taste decent. Surprisingly enough, adding some brown sugar to the mix greatly improved things; I'd recommend doing this if you try it and find it not to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
wow- really didn't think this would be that great- but it was a perfect flavor to compliment the squash. i cook the squash in the microwave 'cause it goes faster (pierce a few times with knife & cover with plastic wrap.) then after it has cooked & cooled a bit i cut in half and removed seeds. also, used lemon juice instead of lime 'cause that's what i have around & it still was perfect (in my opinion). can't wait to make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NoviceCook
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This dish was UNBELIEVALBLE!! Like others I was skeptical about the chili lime butter, but my goodness, it totally makes the dish! I only cooked one squash but but follwed the rest of the directions to a T. I plan to spread some of the leftover butter on fresh baked cornbread or some other dish. YUMMY! Do yourself a favor....try this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Hillsdale, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This was a great recipe... once I tried the Delicata as indicated, I found that almost every Indian spice I put with it was good as well! This the most versatile squash I have ever had...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wordsmythwmn
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Interesting tasting winter squash. Had never tried the "Delicata" before. The lime-chili-butter gave it a very fresh presentation, and pleasant finish in the mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wordsmythwmn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Baked Asparagus with Balsamic Butter Sauce

See how to make a top-rated asparagus side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States