Baked Custard Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Easy, peasy...an all around great recipe for dessert, babies, breakfasts, snacks. The texture is great, I carmelized some sugar on top after baking...tasted just like a flan the next day. Making it today again for tomorrows dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gracehatter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
I would recommend the use of cinnamon rather than nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
the taste was good but the texture was spongy not smooth like i expect a custard to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arkygirl34

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Watery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lori010993

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Delicious!! Worked perfectly. Ate the first two custards just with cinnamon sprinkled on top, then experimented and sprinkled castor sugar over the next two (made 8), torched them, and had beautiful creme brulee!! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uitenhage, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Living In: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Love custard. If you don't have the custard cups, try tea cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Tasty custard thats easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I only gave this a low rating because I don't like eggy taste. If you like that it is fine. I just made custard last night with 4 cups skim milk, 4 med. eggs, 2 cups cooked rice, 1 cup boiled raisins (to plump), 1 cup sugar (maybe a little less would be okay) 2 tsp vanilla, covered top with cinnamon. Bake 350 for one hour no water bath needed. It set up just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
this was great! reminded me of when my momma used to make it. I didn't change anything in the recipe and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Billie Fees

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo Gap, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Sandy, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
This didn't come out good at all. I followed the exact directions but the custard tasted eggy / like an omelet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States