Baked Cranberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I like the simplicity of this recipe- throw everything in a pan in the oven and stir a lot. I decreased the sugar because I like the tart taste, and left out the brandy because one of my guests dislikes the taste of alcohol in food. In its place, I used a little bit of lime extract about halfway through the baking process. The simplicity and flavor were great, my only issue was that its so hard to clean the dish afterwards because all the sugar bakes (crystallizes) onto the sides. Next time I will probably try all the same ingredients but just do it on the stove at a lower heat for a longer time and see if that works any better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Milford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I altered the recipe to 3 cups cranberries (1 bag), 1 cup of sugar, and 1/4 cup blackberry brandy. Fantastic!! Very sweet, and next time will use 3/4 cup sugar- but it will become a regular addition to my Thanksgiving table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wickwook
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This is a great, easy recipe. I use about 1/2 less sugar and its great. This is the 3rd year making it and people ask all the time for the recipe! Make sure you mix it , a few time while in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wickwook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Really easy and really good! It has a strong cranberry taste, so if you are not a cranberry lover it may not be for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I loved, loved, loved this recipe Thank You for sharing Marion. I have a few cranberry sauces in my recipe box and have enjoyed them as well although they were a little to tart at times they were also delicious but this one is it. I will keep this and make it from now on! I followed other reviews and substituted apple juice for the brandy and only added an additional Table spoon of brandy since I have some very traditional "picky" eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Wow!! This is great! The only thing I will change next time is letting my frozen cranberries thaw. I did not do that and as a result of that, had a lot of liquid in the dish, still good though. My only modification is what a previous reviewer suggested. She subbed 1/3 C. of Apple juice for the equal amt. of brandy, and added 1 T. of brandy. That's what I did and I loved the results. I love cranberries anyway. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I make a recipe just like this every year at Thanksgiving. I haven't tried the brandy. My family has always made it with pecans - about a half a cup or so chopped. It's delicious with the turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
My husband and I are now host our families Thanksgiving dinners and I made this the first year and it has been a request ever since. They had never even had real cranberry sauce before and they love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I have made this many, many times and it is always delicious! I omit the brandy and add approx. 1/2 teaspoon of grated orange peel. Also, I cover it while baking and I don't bother stirring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Findlay, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Perfect taste after sitting in the fridge for a few days. Next time i'll crush up the berries a bit so they go on smoother on the left-over turkey sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Woodland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

How to Make Cranberry Sauce

Learn how to make this quick, delicious recipe using whole cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States