Baked Cornish Game Hens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Only gave it 4 stars because the hens were very good and moist, but the stuffing, to us, was over-seasoned. Will definitely make again, but will cut back on the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
awesome and easy recipe, i added a little water to the deep roasting pan and used red peppers instead of green, defiantly will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
It was pretty good! My husband LOVEDDDDDDDDDD it. I had never cooked any cornish hens before so, this was a total experiment. I love to cook and I love customizing these recipes. I HATED the prep, I will say, so many prep dishes for me to wash, lol. I mixed onions, green pepper, garlic, white salt, black pepper, garlic powder and crushed red pepper in the food processor for the seasoning. I then soaked the meat in that. I stuffed the hens w/ carrots and celery w/ the butter from the original recipe. I mixed then put them in the pan, w/ the seasoning I made and sprayed some butter on top. I baked covered for the 1st hr and uncovered for the final 30 minutes. I then left it in the oven. I wasn't too sure what to cook w/ it so I made stuffing and corn... it worked out but im sure i should have cooked a green veggie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
This was my first time cooking with cornish hens and they were fantastic. Moist, and flavorful. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
This was AWESOME! ONce a month we meet with friends to learn about wine and food pairings. They buy the wine, we make the food. I googled the type of wine and asked for food pairings - cornish game hens was one choice! Allrecipes NEVER lets me down! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by islandgrl212
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I've tried this twice, and my famiy can't get enough. I am a beginner "chef", but I found this recipe to be easy to follow, and the results have been excellent both times. Even my mother-in-law loves my cornish hens, so you know they're good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Just tried this last night. I'm on a low carb diet, so this was perfect. Used lots of fresh mushrooms instead of canned and only 1/4 cup butter in the stuffing, no butter on the bird. Used olive oil on the bird. Would like to experiment with some stronger spices, but overall fantastic-even my picky teen daughter loved it. Had extra stuffing in the pan which was gobbled up immediately. Oh, and I used larger game hens than normal, so my cooking time was a bit longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
These turned out awesome. Super moist. Great flavor. Thank you. Hubby was impressed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Def. a keeper! I used the recipe for just one cornish hen and it was absolutely delicious! My DH and toddler loved it to!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Delicious and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Grilled Game Hens with Blood Orange & Rosemary

See how to grill game hens marinated in blood orange juice and rosemary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States